One of the most difficult transitions people have to the whole food plant based way of life is giving up their favorite salad dressings. Most store bought dressings are filled with oil, sugar and salt. But homemade dressings are so easy, incredibly delicious and with a few tweaks can be healthy too! Trust me, once you make homemade dressing, you’ll never buy store bought again.

This dressing uses #23 Homemade Hummus as an ingredient, and is said to be Rip’s parents’ favorite. Depending on how sweet your orange is, you may need a little maple syrup. My orange wasn’t sweet, so I added a drizzle and it is perfect!

  • 2 tablespoons Homemade Hummus (page 67) or store bought hummus with no added oil or tahini
  • A hint of grated orange zest
  • 2 tablespoons fresh orange juice, or 1/2 orange including sections and juice
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons mustard, your favorite I prefer a dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon minced fresh ginger

In a small bowl, combine all the ingredients with a fork. Toss onto your salad and serve.

I use my Nutri-Bullet and blend it up. If you like your dressing a little thicker you can add a tiny bit of xanthan gum. It’s not necessary but will help thicken the dressing. Use about 1/2 teaspoon per cup of liquid. ( this recipe I didn’t use any but if I would it would be about 1/8 teaspoon).

I use this to top my salads, bowls and as a dip for my charcuterie boards or crudités.

I give this dressing a 5 out of 5 forks! It’s delicious!