fullsizeoutput_65e2Who doesn’t love Macaroni & Cheese? That creamy, rich, and velvety sauce smothering those perfectly cooked elbow noodles, makes for the perfect warm and cozy dinner. Yeah, I’m pretty sure it’s been declared our National Comfort Food. Which is why so many vegans will admit, giving up Mac & Cheese is a tough one! But now we don’t have to!
I’ve been checking the Forks Over Knives app for new recipe ideas to try. The Velvety Macaroni recipe popped up and I was immediately intrigued! But as usual, I didn’t have the ingredients. Yeah, I still don’t just buy butternut squash without a reason. So, I decided to find a recipe that I can make. There are literally hundreds of vegan mac & cheese recipes on the interwebs. Each one claiming to be the most authentic cheesy flavor. How’s a girl suppose to choose? Well, I just closed my eyes and clicked one. So here goes…
Recipe type: Pasta
Cuisine: Vegan
Serves: 4
Ingredients:
  • 10 ounces large macaroni shell I used brown rice pasta which is gluten free
  • 1/2 white onion, diced
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup raw cashews, soaked for 4-6 hours or overnight, then drained So cashews can be expensive, but we found reasonably priced ones here
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth I used one of my super cool Vegetable Broth Concentrate
  • 1 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 3/4 tsp chili powder
  • 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 1 4-ounce can diced chilis (scoop half into the sauce, reserve half for the finished mac n cheese) I didn’t have these in my pantry, so I skipped it! 
  • Optional: 1 cup tortilla chips, fresh cilantro for topping I didn’t have either of these, so I skipped this step.
  • I added a bit of Follow Your Heart Parmesan and a bit of paprika and a basil leaf
Instructions:
  1. If topping with tortilla chips, crush chips into fine crumbs and add to a baking pan lined with parchment paper or foil. Spritz with olive or canola oil, sprinkle with salt and stir, then bake in a 350 degree F oven for 10 minutes or until golden brown.
  2. Boil macaroni according to package instructions.
  3. In a medium skillet over medium-low heat, sautee onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil. Season with salt and pepper, stir and cook until soft and fragrant – about 7 minutes. Set aside.
  4. Add onions and garlic to a blender with remaining ingredients, omitting the tortilla chips and adding only half of the green chilies. Blend until smooth, using the “liquify” setting if you have it to get it really smooth. Otherwise just blend for up to a minute, scraping down sides as necessary, until smooth and creamy.
  5. Drain the noodles, set aside and cover (with a towel). To the same pot you boiled the noodles in, add the cashew cheese and cook on low stirring frequently until slightly thickened.
  6. Add the macaroni noodles to the cheese, along with the remaining green chilies and stir. Serve immediately, topping with crushed toasted tortilla chips and cilantro (optional).
OMG, this was AMAZING! I even almost talked my husband into trying it. But, alas he did not! Next time!
