fullsizeoutput_6608

It’s been two weeks of vegan, whole food, plant based eating and I LOVE IT! Two weeks, 14 days, 42 meals (if you eat 3 squares a day, which I don’t) of wholesome, beautiful, delicious food! I’m seriously in awe of my bad self! It’s amazing how quick and easy it was to adapt. Granted, I’ve been a non-meat eater for more than half my life, but giving up dairy, fish and eggs was not nearly as hard as I thought.

Tonight my husband and I wanted to do pizza, cuz that’s one of our romantic foods. Cue that warm fuzzy feeling. Seriously though, pizza is like an edible billet-doux (word of the day), since our first date was pizza and ice skating.💗

I haven’t had pizza, since I went vegan. GASP!  I know 14 days without pizza is disgraceful! I just wasn’t sure how to make it taste good without ooey-gooey cheese. But, on our adventure to Whole Foods the other day I found Daiya non-dairy cheese. BINGO!! And serendipitously, while cleaning out the pantry I found a gluten free pizza crust mix. (Not sure how it got there.) So I decided to do a “What’s in Your Pantry- Vegan Style” recipe. Yikes!

fullsizeoutput_661e This is the mix that magically appeared in my pantry. The directions call for eggs, but there’s a vegan option on the package that substitutes flax seed meal for the eggs. And, if you want to cut calories and fat, you can drop the oil down to 1 tablespoon. That trick is not on the package, but I did it and it turned out great. Easy, peasy!

 

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups warm water
  • 1 packet yeast (included)
  • 2 large eggs* Flax seed meal replacement is 2 Tbsp meal and 6 Tbsp water
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil This is where I went rogue and only added 1 Tbsp
  • 1 package gluten free pizza crust mix
  • Pizza Sauce I used leftover marinara sauce but you could also use salsa for a Mexican flavor
  • Daiya vegan mozzarella cheese 
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  • 1 each small red, yellow and orange peppers, sliced
  • Green onion, chopped
  • Cilantro, chopped
  • 1/4 avocado, chopped

Step 1
Preheat oven to 425ºF and oil two 12-inch pizza pans or one 16-inch pizza pan; set aside. I wasn’t making a large pizza because hubs was bringing home Pizza Hut Pizza. So I made individual size crusts, about the size of a small plate. In fact, I used a small plate as a crust cutter.

Step 2
In a large bowl, combine water and yeast. Let stand for 5 minutes while the yeast dissolves. Stir in eggs (flax meal mixture) and oil. Add pizza crust mix and stir until ingredients are completely combined.

Step 3
Leaving dough in the bowl, split in half for two pizzas or keep whole for one large pizza. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise 20 minutes. I split into 2 halves

Step 4
Place dough in the center of the prepared pizza pan(s). Cover each piece of dough with a large piece of plastic wrap. Using a rolling pin or your hands, roll or press the dough flat to fit the pan. Use your fingers on top of the plastic to create a crust edge, if desired. I pressed fist-size balls of dough on the counter and press it into a circle-like shape. Then, I used a small plate and turned it upside down and pressed it into the crust. I used a knife to cut the excess dough from around the edges. Voila, a perfect individual size crust! TIP: wet your fingers to keep from sticking to dough. 

Step 5
Remove plastic wrap and bake without toppings for 7 minutes.

Step 6
Remove from oven and top with sauce, black beans, cheese, peppers and green onion. Bake for an additional 10-15 minutes, until crust is golden brown. I took the cooled, partially cooked crusts and froze them. To use frozen crusts, just defrost either at room temp or in microwave, add your favorite toppings and bake as directed. 

Crust mix makes two 12-inch pizzas or one 16-inch pizza. Or 8 individual sized pizzas.

*Vegan option: Combine 2 Tbsp Flaxseed Meal and 6 Tbsp Water. Let stand for one minute. Add to recipe in place of eggs

Word of the day – Billet-doux – def. love letter

