I’m not a big ice cream lover, but if you tell me I can’t have something, I want it. Yep I’m one of those transpontine (word or the day) “don’t tell me what to do” people! So, I decided to try to make my own version of a dairy free ice cream with fresh fruits, soy milk and a little sweetener. I make mine in individual serving size containers, because I have no self control and tend to over-serve myself.

  • 1 banana
  • 4-6 strawberries
  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk, Soy, Almond or Coconut
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup or rice syrup, optional
  • Pinch of salt, optional
  1. Blend banana, strawberries and non-dairy milk in blender until mixed.
  2. Add sweetener and salt and continue to blend for another minute or so.
  3. Pour in single serve freezer proof containers and freeze for 3-4 hours or overnight.
  4. Allow to defrost for 15 minutes prior to serving.

This is the perfect snack for those days when you’re craving a sweet treat. And you can be as creative as you want with the ingredients. Think chocolate-banana, chocolate covered strawberry, kiwi-banana, mixed berry, peanut butter-banana, etc.

Word of the Day: Transpontine – def. Melodramatic (alluding to the type of dramas once performed in theaters south of the Thames).

