fullsizeoutput_65d5

I had a dream last night – in vegan! Yes, I said vegan! Rumor has it that when people learn a new language they sometimes dream in that language. That’s when you know you’ve really mastered it. Well that’s what happened to me!! First of all, yes I do believe veganism is a new and unfamiliar language. It’s a whole different way to look at food and nutrition. I’ve had to relearn the basics that were ingrained in my brain since I was little. It’s changed my weltanschauung (Word of the Day!) on nutrition.

OK, back to my dream- So, I created the most amazing vegan meal that was nutritional perfection and even my non-vegan husband loved it! It had it all – Vitamins B12 and D, calcium, protein, omega-3 fatty acids, iron, and zinc. The only problem is, I forgot the recipe. WAH!! Why-oh-why, didn’t I wake up and write it down? 😦

Since I can’t remember the dream recipe, today’s recipe is Mock Tuna Salad.  Now to be completely honest, I was a little skeptical about this recipe. But I’ve been craving a sandwich and a PBJ didn’t fit the bill. So, I went to the Forks Over Knives website for some advice and inspiration. I found their “No Tuna”Salad Sandwich recipe. I also found the Mock Tuna Salad at Eating You Alive website. I decided to combine the two and come up with my own creation.

FOR THE SALAD:

  • 1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 3 tablespoons tahini So tahini and I aren’t friendly. It’s just impossible to stir. But I thought I’d give it another try. The trick, I found, is to dump the whole can of tahini into the blender. 
  • 1 tbsp Dijon or spicy brown mustard More if you like it creamier
  • 1 tablespoon fresh-squeezed lemon juice
  • ¼ cup diced sweet onion I used a sweet onion, cuz it’s what I had in my pantry. You can use red, yellow, vidalia or even green. 
  • ¼ cup diced celery
  • 1/2 tsp celery seed
  • 1 teaspoon capers, drained and loosely chopped
  • Healthy pinch each sea salt and black pepper

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place chickpeas in bowl and smash with fork, or put in blender and pulse until mashed but still chunky. (Not hummus)
  2. Add tahini, mustard, lemon juice, onion, celery, celery seed, capers, salt and pepper. Stir until mixed.

FOR SERVING:

  • Sandwich Thin-wheat bread I used a sandwich thin, because, say it with me,  I had them in my pantry.
  • Spinach
  • Tomato, sliced I used grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1/4 Avocado, sliced

 

Weltanschauung – def. world view

My sandwich was absolutely fantastic! And I had plenty leftover for lunches the rest of the week. This is a must try!

