fullsizeoutput_65da

It’s become obvious to me that the key to getting the vitamins & minerals necessary to fuel this body of mine, is eating a diversified diet filled with fruits & vegetables. Even those that may not be on my radar, like lima beans (I tried these as a kid and I don’t think I liked them), okra (it’s a southern thing right?), and jack fruit (whaat? who’s Jack and why does he have fruit?)

As I was browsing the the aisles of my Publix today, I came across a bag of frozen mixed Vegetable Soup Mix. Not your usual bag of frozen vegetables, either. It had tomatoes, lima beans, potatoes and even okra. (What no Jack fruit?) I read the ingredients and to my surprise just the veggies! No casein or preservatives! YAY! Peradventure (Translate as “Perhaps” – Word of the Day), I should give it a shot. Soup it is!

 

fullsizeoutput_65c4fullsizeoutput_65c3

Ingredients:

  • 15 oz Bag of Vegetable Soup Mix
  • 2 cups Water
  • 1 Package Vegetable Stock Concentrate If you don’t have these cool little concentrate packets, you can use 2 cups of vegetable broth in place of the water and packet. 
  • 15 oz Can Beans (Black, Red, Kidney or Garbanzo)
  • 1/2 cup Rice, uncooked or 1 cup cooked I’ve been cooking a big batch of rice on Sundays and storing in the refrigerator so I can make quick meals throughout the week. 
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 1 tsp Oregano
  • 1 tsp Turmeric
  • 1 tsp Cumin
  • 1 tsp Rosemary
  • 1 tsp Thyme
  • 2 cloves Garlic, diced

Directions:

  1. Heat 2 cups of water to boiling.
  2. Add vegetable stock concentrate, frozen vegetable soup mix, beans, uncooked rice and seasonings. If using cooked rice add it at the end, just to heat. 
  3. Bring to back to boil
  4. Cover and simmer for 20-30 minutes.
  5. Top with Daiya Vegan Shredded Parmesan
  6. Enjoy!

 

Word of the Day: Peradventure – def. Perhaps

This soup was DELISH!!! I highly recommend it! I think Kroger sells a similar product, so check your local grocers’ freezer section!

 

