It’s officially been 1 week!! WOOHOO!! I’m feeling GREAT!! I really haven’t missed dairy, eggs or fish. I’ve found so many recipes I’m having a hard time deciding what to make next. My freezer is overflowing with vegan choices. I kind of thought going vegan would feel like a carceral sentence. (Word of the Day) But it’s been just the opposite! I’ve actually enjoyed trying new beautiful foods and delicious recipes.

Over the last week I’ve continued to educate myself about plant based diets and the myths of veganism. Take protein, for instance; the first comment people make when they hear vegan is always “what about protein?” Newsflash – plants have protein too. Concerns over vegan protein intake are completely unwarranted if a healthy diet is followed. Take a look at this chart:

Food Protein
Tempeh (1 cup) 41 grams
Lentils (1 cup) 18 grams
Navy Beans (1 cup) 16 grams
Kidney Beans (1 cup) 15 grams
Hemp Seeds (3 Tbsp) 15 grams
Chickpeas (1 cup) 15 grams
Black Beans (1 cup) 15 grams
Pinto Beans (1 cup) 14 grams
Lima Beans (1 cup) 11.6 grams
Whole Grain Pasta (1 cup) 8-10 grams
Peas (1 cup) 9 grams
Brown Rice (1 cup cooked) 9 grams
Nutritional Yeast (1 1/2 Tbsp) 8 grams
Almonds (1/4 cup) 7.4 grams
Peanut Butter (2 Tbsp) 7 grams
Soymilk (1 cup unsweet) 7 grams
Quinoa (1 cup cooked) 6 grams
Spinach (1 cup cooked) 5 grams
Broccoli (1 cup, cooked) 5 grams
Cashews (1/4 cup) 5 grams
Flaxseeds (2 Tbsp) 4 grams
Walnuts (1/4 cup) 4 grams

As you can see, many of the foods that vegans eat are good protein sources. It’s also important to remember that excess protein (especially animal protein) is actually toxic to our system. Say whaaat? Evidently, the liver filters toxins out of our blood. When we eat a heavy animal protein diet, the liver gets overloaded and can not do its job, thus sending toxins through our bloodstream.  And, as you can imagine, this is not a good thing.

So, I’ve been trying to track my calories and nutrients to see where my diet is lacking. I use myfitnesspal.com and love it! You add your food, meals, or recipes and it will calculate the nutritional value. You can look at your nutrition intake daily, weekly and monthly. You can also track water intake and exercise. And they have an app for your phone. It’s the bomb! According to my reports, I’ve been right on target with my diet. I thought so, but it’s nice to have a proof.

So, today I’m going to make my oatmeal recipe. As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not crazy about breakfast, but I love this oatmeal. It’s a hearty breakfast that get’s my day off to a good start.

fullsizeoutput_65e3Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 cup soy milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon, ground
  • 1/2 cup, strawberries, sliced
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 Tbsp flax seed meal
  1. Put oats and soy milk in microwave safe bowl
  2. Cook on 50% power for 4 minutes.
  3. Add fruit and cinnamon and continue to cook 50% power for 1-2 more minutes.
  4. Top with flax seed meal and enjoy!

This is a protein and nutrient rich breakfast and here’s the proof!

Nutrition Facts
Servings 1.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 382
% Daily Value *
Total Fat 10 g 16 %
Saturated Fat 1 g 4 %
Monounsaturated Fat 2 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 4 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg 0 %
Sodium 74 mg 3 %
Potassium 463 mg 13 %
Total Carbohydrate 62 g 21 %
Dietary Fiber 11 g 44 %
Sugars 9 g
Protein 15 g 30 %
Vitamin A 11 %
Vitamin C 87 %
Calcium 36 %
Iron 24 %
* The Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet, so your values may change depending on your calorie needs. The values here may not be 100% accurate because the recipes have not been professionally evaluated nor have they been evaluated by the U.S. FDA.

Word of the Day: Carceral – def. of, relating to, or suggesting a jail or prison

