So after my delightful Mexican Spaghetti Squash dinner yesterday, I’ve been craving more Mexican food. I mean, don’t they eat Mexican everyday in Mexico? Why can’t I?  And since my refrigerator is bulging with vegan leftovers, (yup, no room for hubby’s junk food) I need to try to use some of these, too.

In the last week I’ve been online searching for recipes, tips and ideas for vegans. The one I keep running across is a Buddha Bowl. What is a Buddha Bowl? I’m picturing Buddha, with his big round belly, and I have to say I wasn’t too interested. Do I want to eat something that will make my belly big and round like his? NO! But they look delish, I have to try.

Buddha Bowls can actually be quite healthy, depending on what you put in them. They contain a wide array of foods that together make for a complete meal. They consist of raw or cooked vegetables for fiber, tofu or beans for protein, quinoa or brown rice for complex carbohydrates, and an assortment of raw vegetables for vitamins, minerals and are topped with a dressing for healthy fat. They can be customized for breakfast, lunch or dinner and even meat eaters, like my husband, can add their meat of choice. Why didn’t I know about these when my kids were little? I’m picturing an buffet, where each person adds only what they want. What a great way to get a well rounded meal in one big bowl, please everyone in the family, and use up all my leftovers.

So with my Mexican food craving and a Buddha Bowl in mind, I decided to try a Mexican Buddha Bowl. I’m hoping to create a nexus of flavors that will be a treat to my taste buds.(How’s that for pulling in the word of the day?)

Word of the Day: Nexus – def. connection or link, connected group or series

Ingredients:

  • Romaine and spinach salad, chopped
  • 1/2 cup black beans I used my black bean and corn soup
  • 1/2 each red and yellow peppers, sliced
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup long grain brown rice, cooked
  • 1/2 cup corn salsa
  • 1/4 Avocado
  • Cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 Lime, juiced

Instructions:

  1. In a skillet cook onion for 3 minutes. Add peppers and mushrooms and continue to cook until vegetables are soft.
  2. In a large bowl, place a bed of romaine and spinach.
  3. Top with warm, cooked rice. I used leftover turmeric rice and reheated it in the microwave.
  4. Add cooked vegetables to the bowl.
  5. Heat black beans and add to bowl. I used leftover black bean and corn soup.
  6. Top with salsa, avocado, cilantro.
  7. Squeeze fresh lime juice over the top.

I have to say this was one of my favorite meals so far! I made homemade corn chips for a little crunch. OMG, it was pure perfection!

