fullsizeoutput_65bb

 

OK, Day 5 and I’m feeling good! My mind is clear and I’m more focused than when my brain is high on dairy. I can actually remember things and I’m rocking it at work lately! So this is how it feels to be sharp, competent and luculent (def. – clear in thought or expression.)

VOCAB ALERT – As part of my betterment plan, I’m taking the Word of the Day Challenge. I’ll be using the word of the day from Merriam-Webster in my post and I’ll even give the definition. This is actually for my benefit, so when I re-read my posts months later, I’ll remember what they mean.

I’ve been staring at a spaghetti squash in my pantry for a week now, and I can not remember why I bought it. To be fair, I bought it before I started the plant-based diet, so the recipe idea was deleted by the sugar, dairy and other junk. It’s just sitting there taunting me and my middle-aged memory. So, today I’m going to do a “What’s in your Pantry” Challenge and get rid of this thing!

Creamy Spaghetti Squash Soup

Organic Authority

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil, melted I didn’t use oil when sautéing the veggies. If you feel it needs some liquid add a little water. 
  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 garlic clove, finely chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • Large handful of parsley, chopped
  • ½ cup low-sodium vegetable stock
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 scallion, chopped for garnish
  • Pumpkin seeds for garnish, I used the squash seeds and roasted them.
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Slice the spaghetti squash in half, lengthwise. Remove the seeds and drizzle 1 tablespoon of the coconut oil across both the halves. Place the halves face down on baking dish and pop into the oven for about 45 minutes to 1 hour, or until the spaghetti squash is tender throughout. I didn’t use oil for the squash either. I don’t want to add the extra calories.
  3. While the spaghetti squash cooks, in a large pot over medium-high heat add the remaining 1 tablespoon of coconut oil (nope, just water if necessary), garlic, onion, and carrots. Cook and stir occasionally until the carrot is tender and the onion becomes translucent – about 8 minutes. Turn the heat to low.
  4. When the squash is cooked, remove the halves from the oven and use a spoon to scoop out the flesh, discarding the skin. Place the flesh into a blender along with the vegetable stock and coconut milk. Blend. Add the vegetable mixture and blend again until smooth. Transfer the spaghetti squash mixture to the pot to reheat. Season with salt and pepper. Stir. Serve with a garnish of chopped scallions and pumpkin seeds.

OMG, this soup is so delicious and tastes very fattening, but it’s NOT! It’s super smooth and creamy! I highly recommend this recipe! And an added bonus – the squash isn’t staring at me from my pantry anymore! 🙂 Now go be luculent and use that vocab word in a conversation today!

