fullsizeoutput_65cc

I’ve been doing a little research about the plant-based diet and came across another documentary called Forks Over Knives. Now, I’m not usually a documentary lover, but this movie is amazing! Released in 2011, it follows two researchers, Dr. T. Colin Campbell and Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn in their study of the benefits of a vegan, plant-based diet. I know, it sounds like a snore-fest, but its not!! It’s truly an insightful look at the scientific facts surrounding the human body, nutrition and USDA recommendations. I’ve watched it twice and I’m about to cue it up again!

After you digest all the info in Forks Over Knives, you must watch Engine 2 Kitchen Rescue. This movie follows Rip Esselstyn, son of Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn and the author of The Engine 2 Diet, as he helps families adjust to a plant-based diet. There is also an app, FOK-Recipes, that has wonderful recipes, shopping lists and tips. Rip is also touring around the country giving talks about this diet and promoting his book and line of foods which are sold in Whole Foods. I tried to see him at my local store, but it was sold out 😦

So today, I’m going to try a recipe from the FOK app! YAY!! I’m feeling like it’s a black bean soup kind of day!

Forks Over Knives

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 6 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 stalks of celery, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 5 cups of vegetable broth (homemade or low sodium)
  • 4 – 15 ounce cans of black beans, low sodium (or 7 cups cooked) undrained I used 2 – 26.5oz cans, which doesn’t equal 4 – 15oz cans but it’s what I had.
  • 1 – 15 ounce can of whole sweet corn, drained (salt free, unsweetened)
  • 1  – 14.5 ounce can of fire roasted tomatoes, diced (I use Muir Glen Organics)
  • 4 teaspoons roasted cumin (or regular cumin)
  • 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon Herbamare or salt (to taste) I used salt
  • Juice of 1 small lime
  • Fresh ground pepper to taste
  • 1/2 bunch of cilantro, chopped to garnish

Instructions: 

  1. In a large pot, sauté the onion, celery, carrots and garlic in 1 cup of vegetable broth over medium heat for 6-7 minutes. Add chipotle chili powder, roasted cumin, and black pepper and cook for another minute or two. Stir in the remaining vegetable broth, 4 cups (or 2.5 cans) of beans, and sweet corn. Turn to high heat and bring to a boil.
  2. Add remaining 3 cups (or 1.5 cans) of beans and crushed tomatoes to a Vitamix or blender and process until smooth. Stir into soup when boiling, reduce heat to medium, and simmer for 15 minutes until beans and vegetables are done to your desired tenderness.
  3. Taste test. Add Herbamare or salt to taste and lime juice.
  4. Serve in bowls and garnish with fresh chopped cilantro.

OMG I LOVE LOVE this soup! It wasn’t as thick as most black beans soups due to me using the 2 larger cans, but I didn’t care because the flavor is RIDICULOUS! I topped it with cilantro, avocado and green onion.

 

 

