OK it’s day 2 and I’m not starving or craving anything, yet. I know it’s only been a day, but I was seriously worried that I’d get bored with my limited vegan choices. I mean how many big-ass salads sans cheese can a person eat in a week? But after a little Google search, I found tons of vegan recipes that look amazing and don’t require me to be a super chef. Most require a basic knowledge of cooking prep and use ingredients I can find at my local supermarket. The only problem I’m having is deciding which one to try next. There are so many choices!

I love a good veggie burger, but when I looked at the ones in my freezer, I realized they contain milk and egg. WHAAAAT? So, I decided to go hunting for a homemade vegan version. I chose the Quick Oat recipe from Eating You Alive since that movie is what started me on this adventure in the first place.

Now I have to admit that I’m not the best at sticking to a recipe. First, I like to use what I have in the house (hmm could be that I’m lazy) and second, I’m kind of partial to certain flavors so I tend to use them in every recipe.  So FYI, any changes I make to the recipe will be in red.


Eatingyoualive

  • 3 cups quick oats I used old fashioned oats
  • 1 large onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce or miso, or 2 tsp. salt I used low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1/2 tsp. sage
  • 1 cup walnuts or pecans I used almonds
  • 2 1/2 cups water Maybe wait to add all the water
  1. Put oats in a large bowl.
  2. Put everything else in a high-powered blender and blend until smooth.
  3. Add blended ingredients to bowl of oats and mix well. If mixture is too stiff, add a little more water.
  4. Spoon mixture onto cookie sheets, forming patties.
  5. Bake at 400°F for 20 minutes.
  6. Flip patties over and bake another 5 minutes on the other side.

Serve with Simple Mayo, lettuce, tomato, onions, etc.


So the original recipe was really runny, which could be because I used old fashioned oats instead of instant. Live and learn! I added another cup or so of oats, which seemed to thicken it up nicely. Flipping them over was pretty difficult as they were stuck to the cookie sheet. I tried foil on the second tray but that was worse. I may need to treat the pan with some oil or parchment paper next time. This recipe made 11 burgers, so I put them in baggies and froze them.

I ate one patty on a bed of spinach topped with salsa. It was very tasty, but maybe a tad dry 🙂 

