Day 1 – February 1, 2017

So I’m a little late on the NEW YEAR’s RESOLUTION thing, (I’m working on punctuality, too) but I’ve decided to start a plant based diet.  Confession – I’m already a pescatarian, meaning I eat fish, oh and eggs and dairy, but no red meat. Wow, I sound a little non-committal, don’t I? Anyway, lately, I’ve found myself slipping to the dark side of vegetarianism – chips, french fries, cheese pizza with a veggie now and then. It’s vegetarian, but so unhealthy. Let’s just say there haven’t been many veggies in my diet lately. That makes me sad, because I really do like veggies. I just don’t like all the cleaning, peeling and chopping. Yep, I admit it, I’m a lazy vegetarian. Well, it’s 2017 and it’s time for a change.

I, Kim (aka: Lazy Veggie) pledge to change my ways and follow a plant based (aka: vegan) diet for the next 21+ days.

Let me give you a little background on me. I’m a wife and mother of two, and vegetarian for over 35 years. As I explained earlier, I don’t eat red meat or poultry, and I scarcely eat fish or eggs. But I LOVE cheese, lots and lots of cheese! I love salads, big-ass salads with every vegetable imaginable, topped with a heaping mound of cheese. Any kind of cheese will do; feta, cheddar, goat, pepper jack. Sometimes I even use 2 kinds of cheese :0

To be fair to myself, I’m not fully responsible for my bad eating habits of late. I mean have you ordered a salad in a restaurant lately? Iceberg lettuce, a mushy tomato and a carrot sliver do not constitute a $15 salad. It’s ridiculous and has led to my diet demise. We’ve been eating out quite a bit and since I don’t like to order salads, I’ve been ordering crappy, unhealthy foods. And my girlish figure is suffering.

So the other day I was surfing the internet and came across this documentary called “Eating You Alive”. I was immediately intrigued by the trailer and decided to rent it. I was amazed after watching the movie the first time, flabbergasted after the second, and down right dumbfounded after the third. Yes, I watched it three times and I know, I may be a tad bit obsessive.

This movie explains how Americans are killing themselves with unhealthy, fat laden, chemically treated food. Surprisingly, modern medicine is not helping the problem, but instead masking the symptoms with medications. They explain how food is a major factor in our health and if you want to be healthy then you should eat healthy. They also go into detail about meat, dairy and eggs and how our bodies react to them. It really is an eye-opening movie and if you or a loved one is dealing with a chronic condition, I highly recommend a viewing or two.

Over the next 3 weeks I’ll chronicle my experience as a plant based, vegan. I hope it will be enlightening, oh and lightening (I want to shed some cheese weight) and maybe even a bit humorous. I’ll include recipes with photos and any tips I find on how to make it work. For now, I urge you to go watch the movie and let me know what you think.

