OK, today’s recipe is Kale Chips. Yes, I said KALE… and while it is, in fact, a 4 letter word, it’s not a bad one! Now, I’m not an experienced kale eater/ preparer, but I just couldn’t resist buying these beautiful green leaves. They looked so healthy and fresh, I just had to. Now, I’ve attempted to make kale chips before, but they didn’t turn out right and I ended up tossing the lot of them. But I’m determined to make these work. So I found this recipe and I’ll try to follow it to a tee…I WILL TRY, but, I have a tough time not straying.

Crispy Kale Chips by Melissa d’Arabian from Ten Dollar Dinners, at FoodNetwork.com

Ingredients

  • 1 head kale, washed and thoroughly dried
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Sea salt, for sprinkling

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 275 degrees F.
  2. Remove the ribs from the kale and cut into 1 1/2-inch pieces. So, I did this step and then washed the leaves and placed them on paper towels to air dry completely. I think this is the trick to making them crispy.
  3. Lay on a baking sheet and toss with the olive oil and salt. I sprayed them with olive oil and sprinkled them with Montreal Steak Seasoning.
  4. Bake until crisp, turning the leaves halfway through, about 20 minutes. I didn’t flip mine, but they are perfectly crisp.
  5. Serve as finger food.

So, I just couldn’t stick to the recipe. I thin I may have an issue with this. Maybe it’s a “don’t tell me what to do” thing. I don’t know, but the chips are AWESOME!!!! Give it a try!

