I had planned to make angel hair pasta with a homemade red sauce with meatballs (No, I didn’t start eating meat… the vegetarians weren’t eating pasta tonight), and buttery garlic bread for dinner tonight. But, as is common in my house, someone grumbled about wanting Alfredo sauce instead. Of course, I scoffed and said they will eat what I make or they can make their own dinner. I know…I’m a hard ass, huh? Well, as soon as they walked away, I jumped on the internet in search of a quick and easy Alfredo recipe. And this is why I deserve the “Mom Of The Year” Award! (Actually, I’d rather have a chest to pin the award on!!) Well, I found one that was super simple and most importantly, I had all the ingredients!!! WOOHOO!

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce By Dawn Carter From AllRecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1 (8 ounce) package cream cheese
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 2 cups milk
  • 6 ounces grated Parmesan cheese I didn’t use 6 ounces, I used more like 3 ounces. 
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground black pepper I used white pepper, because my fam doesn’t like to see black specs in their food. 

Directions

  1. Melt butter in a medium, non-stick saucepan over medium heat.
  2. Add cream cheese and garlic powder, stirring with wire whisk until smooth.
  3. Add milk, a little at a time, whisking to smooth out lumps.
  4. Stir in Parmesan and pepper.
  5. Remove from heat when sauce reaches desired consistency. Sauce will thicken rapidly, thin with milk if cooked too long.
  6. Toss with hot pasta to serve. I used angel hair, because that’s what I had planned and I didn’t have fettucini. 

OK, so here’s my take on this recipe… First, it said it makes 4 servings. Uh, no! Maybe if you’re drinking it. It actually makes more like 8-10 servings. That being said, don’t be fooled into thinking that you can use a small saucepan to make this. I did, and it was so full I couldn’t even whisk properly… if I knew how to whisk properly. The pan size issue is also why I didn’t add all the parmesan cheese. But it actually tasted REALLY GOOD!!! I added some grilled chicken on top and called it Chicken Angel Hair Alfredo. Sounds like a mob nickname, huh?

