‘Tis the season of The Oscar’s, The Golden Globes, The People’s Choice and about a gazillions other award shows. Have you noticed how many trophies the entertainment industry awards themselves? Why? The big fat bank account isn’t enough? They need trophies for the mantle in their bathroom, too?!?! Yes I’m implying that everyone involved in the entertainment industry either has a fireplace in their bathroom, or will build one if they win. Which I’m know is CRAZY, but that’s where they say they keep them, and I don’t think they put them on the back of the commode. Or maybe they do?


Whoa, sorry for the rant… But it felt necessary to vent!! Anyway, my husband and I are trying to see as many of the nominated films as we can. And that means buckets and buckets of popcorn and boxes and boxes of Junior Mints. So let me get this out there right now… yes, I know how unhealthy Movie Theater Popcorn is, but watching a movie at the theater just isn’t the same without a bucket and a box!! That being said, I think I need to start smuggling in my own popcorn. I mean have you seen the nutritional info of a bucket of popcorn? Here’s the info for a large unbuttered popcorn from our local theater chain… Calories: 868, Fat: 41g, Carbs: 98g, Protein: 17g. Now this info is for a large and it’s probably suppose to be shared by 6-8 people, which would make it a little better. But truth be told, we… the two of us…share it and other than the spattering of kernels rolling around the bottom of the bucket, we can pretty much finish it off. I know, go ahead and say it…YIKES!!!Well I was watching Dr. Oz and he said that you can pop your own healthy popcorn in a brown paper lunch bag in your microwave!! WHAAAATTT??!?! Nuh-uh! That can’t be right. Well, I decided to prove him wrong.
Paper Bag Popcorn 
  • 1/4 cup popcorn kernels I saw one recipe that said to add 1/2 cup of kernels… TOO MUCH! Reference the pics below.
  • Brown Paper Bag Lunch Bag size
  • Toppings of choice: Spray oil or butter (use sparingly), salt, garlic salt, Lawry’s® Seasoning Salt, Cinnamon, parmesan cheese, etc.
  1. Pour popcorn into the paper bag and fold down the top multiple times.
  2. Place in microwave and pop on the smallest “popcorn” setting, or for about 3:30 minutes.
  3. Carefully remove bag from microwave and season with your choice of toppings
So I used 1/2 cup of kernels and I do not sugget this. My bag ripped open during popping and I had “live popping” kernels all over the microwave. WARNING: Do not open the microwave when you have loose kernels. Just turn off the microwave and allow the kernels to cool before opening door. Trust me on this one!
