I am kicking some Betty Crocker Cookbook Challenge butt!! That’s right, after a rather long lull, I’m back in it with a vigor and determination to finish the entire book, before I’m a senior citizen. Uhmmm, I just received my AARP pre-premature mailer, so the pressure is on!!

So, I found a deal on a cooked refrigerated rotisserie chicken at Publix. You’ve got to LOVE a deal!! Well, you do if your into frugality, like I am! So, I bought it to use on my kids’ lunch salads, but after picking all the white meat off, I just couldn’t throw away the carcass with all the dark meat and skin. So I went to Betty and found a chicken broth recipe. Now she, of course, used the entire chicken, but I improvised, which I happen to be so good at doing. I’m sure my hatred of being told what to do plays a roll in my improvisation. That’s right, not even Betty can boss me around so there… (insert raspberry sound here)!!

Chicken and Broth By Betty Crocker

  • 1 cut-up whole chicken (3 to 3 1/2 lb) So My chicken was precooked rotisserie and I had already rescued the good white meat. So I used the rest of the chicken parts.
  • 4 1/2 cups cold water
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 medium celery stalk (with leaves), cut-up
  • 1 carrot, cut up
  • 1 small onion, cut up
  • 1 parsley sprigs

Remove excess fat from chicken. In Dutch oven or stock pot, place chicken, giblets (except liver) and neck. Add remaining chicken and broth ingredients; heat to boiling. Skim foam from broth; reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer about 45 minutes or until juice of chicken is no longer pink when centers of thickest pieces are cut.

So I kind of just threw whatever I had into the stock pot and let it cook away. I’d give you details, but the hubs if gonna be reading this and what he doesn’t know (that I threw in all the stuff he hates… spinach, sweet peppers, cauliflower & broccoli) can’t hurt him (and in fact, will save his life). Also, instead of salt and pepper, I added a little of the Montreal Chicken Seasoning. After cooking it for several hours, I cooled it and put in freezer bags and popped them in the freezer. 

It smells wonderful! And I don’t like chicken. I’ll let you know what the family thinks when I use it.

