Rolls and I have a love/hate relationship. I love the smell of freshly baked rolls. I love the taste of a warm, buttery, melt-in-your-mouth roll. I hate how they attach themselves to my hips. And I really hate  when I make them from scratch, slaving over them through two rises and what seems like hours of kneading, only to have them taste like hockey pucks. So, when I found this recipe, I was hopeful that these would be my UNBELIEVABLE success story! Now, this recipe uses a Tupperware-esque plastic bowl with lid for the rises, (I don’t know how or why, I just do what I’m told) and very little kneading. BONUS!!! I hope it works! I really hope it works!! I really, really hope it works!! Wish me luck!!! No pucks, please!!!

Unbelievable Rolls By Sherlie at All Recipes

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 5 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup margarine, melted
  1. In a medium saucepan over medium heat, warm milk, water, sugar and salt. Remove from heat, and mix in the eggs and yeast.
  2. Measure flour into a large bowl. Make a well in the flour, and pour milk mixture into it. Do not stir. Cover with a lid, and let stand for 20 to 30 minutes. So just about 25 minutes into this rise, I heard a “POP” that scared the crud out of me. It was the lid popping off the bowl due to the pressure from inside the bowl. I took this as my cue that it was done. 
  3. Pour melted margarine into flour, and mix well. Add more flour if too sticky. Knead lightly. Cover, and let rise for 20 to 30 minutes. Again, the “POP” was my sign, and yes, it scared me again!
  4. Shape the dough into rolls, and place on a baking sheet. If you want to freeze them, do that now!! Then, when you’re ready to use them, move them to the refrigerator the night before, take them out in the morning and let them rise on the counter. 
  5. Let rise again for 20 to 30 minutes.If using the freezer rolls this may take longer, just be patient.
  6. Bake rolls in a preheated 400 degrees F (205 degrees C) oven for 15 minutes, or until done.

This were the best rolls I’ve ever made!! Not the best I’ve ever tasted, but definitely the best my hands have created! AWESOME!!!!

