So this recipe is the first Multi-Challenge entry. Wondering what that means? Well, it means that this recipe qualifies for more than one challenge. This particular recipe started out as a “What’s in your pantry?” Challenge and then turned into a “Betty Crocker Challenge.” I like to multi-task!!!

While I was browsing through my pantry, I came across a package of extra wide egg noodles that I must’ve purchased for a holiday meal that, surprisingly, never got made. Hmm, noodles… what can I make with noodles? Well, since my son was fighting off the beginnings of a cold, yes… again, I decided to make some good ole’ fashioned chicken noodle soup. After scanning the freezer, I came across a couple chicken breasts that were begging to be rescued from their Arctic vacation in Freezerville. Done!! So I have noodles and chicken, all I need is a recipe. Now, I know that I could easily have come up with my own concoction, but why not grab the Betty Book and knock out another one of those recipes. So “What’s in your pantry?” Challenge… Check! Betty Crocker Challenge #497 Chicken Noodle Soup… Check! This is SO SATISFYING!!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon olive or vegetable oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 8 medium green onions, sliced (1/2 cup)
  • 2 medium carrots, chopped (1 cup) I also added celery because it just seemed right. I didn’t want the carrots to be lonely without their friend celery.
  • 2 cups cubed cooked chicken My chicken breasts were frozen from their Arctic vaca so I had to thaw and cook first. I added a step below in red to explain.
  • 2 cups uncooked egg noodles (4 oz)
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley or 1 teaspoon parsley flakes I omitted this because I used Grill Mates® Montreal Chicken Seasoning.
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper I omitted this because I used Grill Mates® Montreal Chicken Seasoning.
  • 1 dried bay leaf I omitted this because I used Grill Mates® Montreal Chicken Seasoning.
  • 5 1/4 cups chicken broth (from two 32-oz cartons) I only had one box of chicken broth so I added extra water and  some Grill Mates® Montreal Chicken Seasoning. 

 Directions:

To prepare chicken:

  1. I got out the hubby’s new George Foreman® Grilleration (hmm, I’m not sure why I call it his…I’m pretty sure he’s never used it) and preheat it.
  2. I then plopped those breast right in the microwave to defrost.
  3. I used the Grill Mates® Montreal Chicken Seasoning to season both sides of the chicken breasts. Are you seeing a theme here?
  4. Then, I grilled them until they were done. The grill time will vary depending on the size of the breasts. LOL!!!
  5. Once they were done, I cubed them as Betty instructed. 

Betty’s Directions:

  1. In 3-quart saucepan, heat oil over medium heat. Add garlic, onions and carrots and celery; cook 4 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. Stir in remaining ingredients. Heat to boiling; reduce heat. Cover; simmer about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally, until carrots, celery and noodles are tender. Remove bay leaf.
My family loved this soup! In fact, they went back for seconds and some even went for thirds!!! I only wish I ate chicken so I could try it!! Yeah, NO! That will never happen!


