I’m feeling a little deprived. You see, I’ve never experienced… hmm, I’m a little embarrassed to say it… ok, I’ll just come out with it… I’ve never experienced Bananas Foster. (Well, what’d you think I was going to say?) This makes me very sad, being that I’m not eating buttery, sugary, rum soaked yumminess right now. Argh, eating healthy sucks! I know, it’s very sad! I could almost shed a tear. But instead of boohoo-ing over missed dessert, I’ve decided to make a Bananas Foster without the Foster. I like to call it a Bananas Brooks. Now, don’t get me wrong, I didn’t invent this recipe. Turns out, there are tons of recipes out there on the interwebs. But, I am going to name it, and isn’t the saying “You name it, you claim it”? No? Oh well. Just trust me.

Bananas Brooks By Kim Brooks

  • 1 Banana, peeled and sliced in half lengthways You can slice it horizontally, but it doesn’t look as ooh-la-la
  • 1 – 2 teaspoons Honey How sweet do you want it? 
  • Cinnamon
  • Optional: Walnuts, Pecans, Almonds or even Coconut Go nuts…coconuts!! I crack me up!!
  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF.
  2. Place the sliced banana in a baking pan or place on aluminum foil.
  3. Drizzle with honey and sprinkle cinnamon and chopped nuts, if desired.
  4. Cover the pan with foil or if using the foil fold it into a pouch around the banana.
  5. Bake for 15-20 minutes.

I don’t know what Bananas Foster tastes like, but these are absolutely DELISH!!!! This may be my go to dessert from now on!!!! Seriously, you MUST TRY IT!!!!

