My hubs got a new George Foreman ® The Next Grilleration™ for Christmas from my Mom (hi Mom!) … and before you say a word…yes, he really did want it! You see, he likes to grill burgers, and since it’s a pain to heat the big grill just for one burger, he thought this would be a good alternative. Now this isn’t his first George Foreman®. No, I got him one last year…uh, for Christmas…hmm might need to expand the gift ideas a tad. Sorry honey! Anyway, I bought the little one that only fits two burgers, and didn’t have removable plates for easy clean-up. That didn’t work for us… not only did we find that a bigger one would be a better fit, but we also found that clean-up was not his forte. So, when Mom asked what she could get him for Christmas, I suggested a bigger, better George Foreman®. Imagine my surprise when I watched him open it and saw that not only was it bigger, but it came with all kinds of fun plates that are removable for easy clean up. SCORE!!!!

Fast-forward to this morning, when I woke up adamant that I was going to make a nice breakfast for the family and a sleepover guest or two. I decided that waffles would be perfect, since I can mix up the batter and make them fresh for each person. You see we wake in shifts around here. My hubs usually wakes up with the dog first, only to go right back to sleep on the couch after a quick potty and feed… for the dog, that is. Then, I get prodded, or rather barked, out of bed soon after by that da*&… oops, I mean darling dog. Yeah, she can’t stand to be awake by herself. UGH! Then a couple hours later, my daughter and her posse will start moving, followed by my son, who wakes up just about lunch time. Yeah, it’s crazy around here on the weekends… actually it’s crazy here everyday.

So waffles it is!! Now I’ve made waffles on here before, but not with the new waffle plates for the George Foreman® The Next Grilleration™. I sound like an infomercial, don’t I? And you can’t make waffles without saying it like Donkey from Shrek…”I’m making waffles!”

George Foreman® Perfect Morning Waffles

  • 1/2 cup low-fat margarine I used a little less than this
  • 1 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon this is optional, but I recommend it!
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups lowfat milk I used skim
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • nonstick cooking spray
  1. Melt margarine in the microwave.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine dry ingredients.
  3. In another bowl, whisk the eggs lightly and stir in the milk, vanilla extract and melted margarine. Stir the liquid ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until just blended.
  4. Preheat grill on high. When the green light goes off, coat with spray.
  5. Spoon about 2/3 cup of batter on each side of the bottom waffle plate and close the lid.
  6. Cook the waffles for 3 1/2 minutes. Check the waffles and continue cooking to a golden brown.
  7. Repeat with remaining batter.
  8. Keep warm in the oven or serve immediately with syrup or honey.
