HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! Can you believe it’s already 2012?! Yeah, me either! I mean weren’t we just partying like it was 1999? THE millennium? Remember stocking up on cash, canned goods and water, “just in case” all the computers freaked out and stopped working? Hmm, yeah, that didn’t happen. And, now it’s 2012, the year the Mayans stopped their calendar. GASP!! This is believed, by some, to signify the end. The end of what you ask… well… um everything. Pshaw… this mama doesn’t buy that, BUT… I’m not taking any chances.  Nope, I’ll be partaking in all the superstitions regarding New Year’s Day good luck food. I mean, it can’t hurt right? And I still have those cans of food from 2000 that I need to use up. Kidding!!!

Growing up in the Midwest, I was raised believing that New Year’s Day dinner had to include sauerkraut… with or without bratwurst. Now, I live in FLA and down here in the south, you have to have black-eyed peas… ughh! Yeah, I’m not fond of these little guys. I know they’re beans, and I LOVE beans, but they just aren’t like any other bean I’ve ever had. Every year I try to come up with a way to eat both of these good-luck foods, without gagging on the pea-beans, but to no avail. Well, until this year!!! You see, I was browsing the interwebs for recipes with black-eyed peas and I came across a recipe for veggie burgers using these lucky little buggers. The recipe included cooked broccoli, cauliflower and mushrooms, which gave me an idea. What if I skipped the broccoli etc (mainly because I didn’t have any) and instead added sauerkraut? Stick with me… I know it sounds repulsive, but I promise you won’t be disappointed!!

Goodluck in the New Year Burger by Kim Brooks’ crazy, demented but extremely lucky brain

  • 1 can black-eyed peas, drained
  • 1 can sauerkraut, drained with liquid reserved
  • 1/2-3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup green onion, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions

  1. In a bowl, combine black-eyed peas and 1/2 cup sauerkraut and a little of the kraut juice. Mash with a potato masher or blend in blender or food processor. You may need to add more liquid if using a blender or food processor.
  2. Return to bowl and stir in another 1/2 cup sauerkraut and all other ingredients. Start by adding 1/2 cup of oatmeal and add more if needed to form burgers.
  3. Shape into regular sized patties, or make them slider size for something fun.
  4. Cook burgers in a skillet sprayed with oil or on a grill (indoor or outdoor) until lightly browned on both sides, about 5 minutes each side.
  5. Serve on bun, sandwich thin, or if your resolution is to cut the carbs, use iceberg lettuce leaves as your bun, as pictured above. Top with some of the leftover sauerkraut and mustard…ENJOY!
