This is one of my absolute most favorite Holiday sweets!!! I say Holiday because my mommy (Hi Mom!!) makes it for us for Thanksgiving and then again at Christmas! To me, Trash signals the beginning of our “seasonal gorge”, you know that period between Thanksgiving and Christmas, or rather, New Years, when we eat endless amounts of food, unaware that we’re even doing it! Well, this stuff is so good, you actually can not stop eating it!

So you’re probably asking why it’s called Trash, huh? Well, it actually has many names… Muddy Buddies, Puppy Chow, Trash, some even make it with white chocolate and call it White Trash…HILARIOUS!!! I call it TRASH because we mix it in a trash bag… oh yeah I should probably clarify… a CLEAN trash bag!!!

I probably should warn you here that this can be rather messy to make. You see, I like to get my hands dirty when mixing. Now, you don’t have to get all messy, but it’s more fun! Also, there are many add-ins options, depending on your likes and dislikes, or in my case, my family’s dislikes:) I’ve listed some optional add-ins in red in the ingredient list. Use your imagination and GO NUTS!! One year I think my mommy (Hi Mom!) added those little crunchy Chinese Noodles… YUM!!

Ingredients

  • 6 cups Rice Chex®, Corn Chex® or Chocolate Chex® cereal (or combination) I added wheat just so I could say they were a little bit healthy
  • 2 cup mini pretzel twists, optional
  • 1 cups peanuts, optional
  • 1 cups raisins or Craisins, optional
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Directions

1. Into large bowl, measure cereal, pretzels, nuts, raisins and Craisins® if you’re adding them; set aside.
2. In 1-quart microwavable bowl, microwave chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter uncovered on high 1 minute; stir. Microwave about 30 seconds longer or until mixture can be stirred smooth. Stir in vanilla. Pour mixture over cereal, stirring until evenly coated. Pour into 2-gallon resealable food-storage plastic bag. I did mine in the white kitchen trash bag, so I could call it TRASH!!
3. Add powdered sugar. Seal bag; shake until well coated. Spread on waxed paper to cool. Store in airtight container in refrigerator.

So I doubled this recipe, but I wouldn’t recommend it! It is WAY TOO MUCH to mix together at once! UGH! But OH SO GOOD!!!

TIP: I put some in Holiday tins and deliver them to the neighbors!! May as well share the sweets, right?


