Today we’re going to try to do a skinny recipe.  Why, you ask? Well, because I can’t seem to control my cookie eating and I don’t want to gain the Christmas 10. (Well… it would make it easier to fulfill my New Year’s Resolution of losing 10lbs, but that doesn’t get me to my goal weight, now does it?) I know, I could totally just not eat the cookies, but I have NO self control when it comes to Christmas Cookies!! I am the Christmas Cookie Monster!!!! Sing it with me…

“C” is for cookie that’s good enough for me!
“C” is for cookie that’s good enough for me,
“C” is for cookie that’s good enough for me,
Oh! cookie, cookie, cookie starts with “C”!

I love Cookie Monster!!! Any way… Today we’re going to do a light version of oatmeal cookies. I found this recipe online at Cooking Light. Now, after perusing the recipe, the only difference I can find is that the butter was cut down to 3/4 cup from 1 cup. Interesting, because I wouldn’t think that would make a huge difference in calories. But, I guess it doesn’t have to be a HUGE difference, just A difference. Well let’s goooooo….

Cooking Light Oatmeal Cookies  David Bonom, Cooking Light, DECEMBER 2006

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened Funny story…so my butter was REALLY soft and I couldn’t cut it without squishing it so I used the normal 1 cup of butter… not so light anymore 🙂
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sweetened dried cranberries My family doesn’t enjoy “the cranberry” so I just added some to my cookies 🙂
  • Cooking spray

Glaze:

  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons grated orange rind

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Combine flour, quick-cooking oats, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and ground nutmeg in a bowl. Combine brown sugar, granulated sugar, and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add vanilla and eggs; beat well. Gradually add flour mixture and cranberries; beat at low speed until combined. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place the balls 2 inches apart on baking sheets coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 15 minutes or until almost firm. Let stand on the baking sheets 2 minutes. Remove cookies from baking sheets; cool completely on a wire rack.
  3. To prepare glaze, combine powdered sugar and remaining ingredients in a bowl, stirring with a whisk. Spoon mixture into a small zip-top plastic bag. Snip a small hole in 1 corner of bag; drizzle glaze over cooled cookies.

OK, so they aren’t so light anymore, thanks to my butter issue, but OMG they are SO GOOD!!! Of course oatmeal cookies are my all-time faves. Ooops, should I not pick favorites? I feel like the cookies are my kids and I wouldn’t want to pick a favorite child… not out loud anyway 🙂 Yeah, you know who you are!

