OH… what… huh…  oh yeah… IO!! That’s right, it’s time for the infamous BUCKEYES!!!

If you didn’t know, I am a BUCKEYE, which is defined as a person who supports The Ohio State University; uh, well there is also a poisonous, useless nut by this name; and a delicious peanut butter ball dipped in chocolate that resembles the useless nut, but is TOTALLY EDIBLE.

If you’ve never had them, (the candy, not the nut) BE WARNED… THEY ARE ADDICTIVE!!! I make these as Christmas gifts for our friends and neighbors, and every year I have people begging and pleading for more! Now, they aren’t difficult to make, but they do take a while as you have to mix, roll, refrigerate, heat, dip, and refrigerate. But they are OH SO WORTH IT!!

This recipe is one I’ve tweaked over the years and I seem to adjust it even more every time I make it. I like my dough to be just perfectly moist/dry enough. Tip: if it’s too moist add confectioner’s sugar and if it’s too dry and crumbly add more peanut butter or butter, whichever you have available. Now, some recipes call for paraffin wax in the chocolate, but I don’t do that. It’s added so that the chocolate looks shiny, but it’s nondigestible and call me crazy, but I don’t like nondigestible ingredients in my food.

Well, here we go….

Ingredients

  • 2 cups creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1- 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
  • 12 ounces semi-sweet chocolate chips

Directions

    1. Line baking sheet with waxed paper or aluminum foil; set aside.
    2. In a medium bowl mix together peanut butter, butter, vanilla, and confectioners’ sugar. Shape into 1″ balls. Place on prepared pan, and refrigerate.
    3. Melt chocolate in a bowl placed over a pan of simmering water, also known as a double broiler. You can also melt chips in the microwave, but be careful you don’t over cook them. Stir occasionally until smooth.
    4. Remove balls from refrigerator. Insert a toothpick into a ball, and dip into melted chocolate. Return to wax paper, chocolate side down, and remove toothpick. Repeat with remaining balls. Refrigerate for until set.
    5. ENJOY!!!!
