This is a recipe I found in my email box the other day, and I thought it was interesting because I have multiple pie crusts in my refrigerator that are BEGGING to be used. OK, OK, I admit it… I may have spent all my cookie baking money on Christmas gifts… for myself! 🙂 So using what I already have is a GREAT thing!! It’s like up-cycling your food stuffs. It’s all the rage right now, at least in my house it is!

OK the original name for these are Cinnamon Sugar Pinwheels, but with the added spices, I thought we should spice up the name a tad, so I came up with “The Sweet & Spicy Pinwheels”. It’s kind of catchy isn’t it? Let’s see if the recipe lives up to it’s new name.

Sweet & Spicy Pinwheels AKA Cinnamon Sugar Pinwheels By Courtney Dial

Ingredients:

  • 1 package pie crust (2 crusts)
  • 6 tbsp sugar, So I added another few tablespoons of sugar because it was too cinnamony for my taste
  • 4 tbsp cinnamon, um this is A LOT of cinnamon for a little bit of sugar. Next time I wouldn’t add as much
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg or all spice or cloves or pumpkin pie spice Not enough of these for my taste. I would up it to a full teapoon and possibly more! Go nuts!!
  • 1/2 cup butter

Direcions:

  1. Unroll the pie crusts according to the package directions.
  2. Combine the sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg (or other spice) until well mixed. As stated above, either use less cinnamon or A LOT more sugar and A LOT more spice of your choice.
  3. Spread 1/4 cup butter on each pie crust, all the way to the edges.
  4. Divide and sprinkle the cinnamon sugar mixture on top of the butter. So I had A LOT of cinnamon sugar so I didn’t use all of it. I’m saving it for something else… it’s a surprise!!
  5. Gently roll up each pie crust into the shape of a log, jelly roll style. I stuck the roll in the freezer for a while so it would be easier to cut without squishing into little ovals. Not that there’s anything wrong with ovals, I’m just a circle girl.
  6. Slice the cinnamon pinwheels 1/4-inch thick and place on a greased cookie sheet. I didn’t read this part until after I sliced them about 1/2″ thick. My bad… FYI… always read your recipe all the way through before starting the process.
  7. Bake at 350 degrees F for 12 to 14 minutes. They took a lot longer to cook.
  8. Remove from the oven and cool.

Hmm, well… At first, I didn’t really like these. They weren’t very sweet and I have to say, they were a little dry. But, the longer they sat, the better they got!! And, I tried them with a cup of tea and they were DELISH!!! I still think I’m going to add a little drizzle of icing to sweeten them up a bit!

