I woke up this morning and decided that today was the day for our annual family Christmas Tree Hunt. Now, in my mind, I pictured our happy family foursome walking through a giant tree lot, singing Christmas carols and laughing our way through the beautiful tannenbaums as giant snowflakes flurry from the Florida sky. (Yes, I know… it RARELY snows in Florida, but a girl can dream, can’t she?) Then, out of nowhere, our perfect tree would leap out of the “forest” and  throw itself on top of our vehicle. We would all rush home to decorate it while watching White Christmas. Sounds perfectly wonderful, huh?

Yeah, well that’s NOT what happened. You see, I attempted to rally the troops, but each had their own non-Christmasy agenda, and my little tree finding field trip was definitely not part of their plan. So, I took one of my besties and headed to the local Home Depot. Well, we actually did sing Christmas carols and laugh our way through the not-so-large tree tent, while giant snowflakes DID NOT flurry from the Florida sky.  The tree did not leap on top of our car, however the nice tree guys did wrap the most beautiful tree and load it in my van. So, the mission was accomplished, but not in the way I’d expected. Nonetheless, I, once again, will carry on our family tradition of buying, lighting and decorating the Christmas tree without any help from my beloved family. 🙂 FA LA LA LA LA!!!

OK, so on to yet another tradition…the SUGAR COOKIE!! Every year I make these cookies, and every year I wonder WHY I put myself through it!!! They are quite labor intensive and take a LONG, LONG, LONG, LONG TIME, what with the mixing, refrigeration, rolling, cutting, baking, cooling, decorating, and packaging!!! But they really are pretty and they melt perfectly when dunked in a cup of tea while sitting in front of my perfectly decorated Christmas tree watching White Christmas! UUUGGHHHH…OK… OK, here goes…

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies
By: Jill Saunders at All Recipes
  • 1 1/2 cups butter, softened
  • 2 cups white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour, I ran out of all-purpose flour mid-way through …oops! But I had wheat flour so I used a little of both.
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight). Pour yourself a cup of coffee and put your feet up for a while…trust me, you’ll wish you had by the time you’re done!
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. Place cookies 1 inch apart on un-greased cookie sheets.
  3. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

Icing Recipe (this is my recipe that has been tweaked over the years)

  • 2 cups confectioners sugar
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons of milk
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  1. Heat butter and milk, over medium heat, until butter is melted.
  2. Stir in confectioners sugar and vanilla.
  3. Remove from heat and using hand mixer, beat until smooth.
  4. Allow to cool slightly before icing cookies.

They are a pain to make, but they do really look pretty!! And since it’s only once a year, I guess it’s OK!!

