Ok, this is a recipe that one of my besties, Laurie made many years ago, and I GORGED myself on!!! I have a serious addiction to this stuff!!! So much so, that I can only make it once a year. And it’s that time of year again!!! YAY!!! I call it Poor Man’s Toffee, because it’s super cheap and easy to make and goes a long way! It’s great for a hostess/neighbor/co-worker gift. I wouldn’t suggest giving it to your significant other as their only gift, unless, of course, you want a lump of coal (too expensive)/head of broccoli (too healthy)/rubber band (perfectly useful & useless) as your gift. However, it would be great in the stocking instead of an labor-intensive orange, though!!

I like to change the topping based on the occasion or my mood. As you can see, today I chose holly & berries which reflects my “still in love with Christmas” mood! Sometimes, I like crushed candy canes, usually when I’m frustrated and need to crush something. Yes it’s a great way to express your feelings without hurting anyone. Give it a try!!

Christmas Crack aka Poor Man’s Toffee (This is my memory of my friend Laurie Kleespies recipe.)

  • Saltine crackers, enough to line a jelly roll pan
  • 1 cup butter/margarine
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 cups chocolate chips
  • sprinkles, candy canes or your fave nuts
  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  2. Line jelly roll or sided cookie sheet with saltines.
  3. In saucepan, bring butter or margarine and sugar to a rapid boil. Continue to boil for 3 minutes.
  4. Pour butter mixture over saltines so that they are completely covered.
  5. Bake for 5 minutes.
  6. Immediately sprinkle chocolate chips over the top and allow to melt for a few minutes.
  7. Spread the melted chocolate to completely cover the saltines.
  8. Add your topping of choice… sprinkles, candy canes or nuts.
  9. Allow to cool completely.
  10. Break into pieces and ENJOY!!
