Peanut Butter Brownies

Day 2 of the Christmas Cookie Challenge was a very busy day (tis the season), therefore I decided to go with a “semi-homemade” recipe using, yes… another brownie mix. I know, there seems to be a chocolate theme so far. To be completely honest, I am not a big chocolate fan…GASP!! Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate chocolate, but if I were given a choice between chocolate brownies and homemade ginger snaps, I would take ginger snaps almost every single time! I know, I probably stand alone on this, but I’m OK with that. It just means more ginger snaps for me!! The truth is, when I cleaned out my pantry, I found not one, not two, but three boxes of brownie mix. This is very strange for a non brownie-loving person. My only explanation is that there must have been a BIG BUY THREE SALE stacked with a coupon making them almost free!! Or maybe my hubs was PMS’ing and bought them. Hey, don’t laugh… that is more likely than me buying them.

Actually today’s recipe was a special request from my niece. She is on bed rest with baby #2 and mentioned that she LOVES peanut butter brownies. So, being the best Aunt in the WORLD, I decided to make them just for her and that baby girl she’s growing!! I went searching for a recipe and as usual I ended up at allrecipes.com. There, I found a recipe that I had all the ingredients for (at least I thought I did) and looked easy enough for my busy day.

Peanut Butter Brownies By Wendi at All Recipes

  • 1 (3 ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup chopped peanuts I skipped the nuts, only because I didn’t have any
  • 1 (19.8 ounce) package brownie mix
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil Shoot!! I ran out of vegetable oil, so I used olive oil…sounds strange, but tasted the same!
  • 2 eggs

Directions

  1. Heat oven to 350°F. Grease bottom of one 13×9 inch pan. Does anyone really grease a pan anymore? Spray, SPRAY!!!
  2. In a small bowl blend the cream cheese, peanut butter, white sugar and 1 egg. Beat at medium speed until smooth. Stir in peanuts and set aside. Mine was smooth no nuts!!
  3. In a large bowl combine the brownie mix, water, oil and 2 eggs. Beat for fifty strokes with a wooden spoon. It’s like magic… exactly 50 strokes makes it perfectly mixed. 49 is not enough and 51 is too much!!
  4. Spread half of the batter into the prepared pan. Drop filling by tablespoonfuls over brownie batter. Spoon remaining batter over filling. Pull a knife through the batter in wide curves, turn pan and repeat for a marbled effect. OK, I tried to pour just half the batter, but it didn’t want to separate, and it didn’t look like it would even cover the bottom of the pan. So I poured all of the batter in the pan and then added spoonfuls of peanut butter mixture and ran a knife through to swirl it into a beautiful design!
  5. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 minutes. Cool completely and cut into bars. Sore tightly covered in the refrigerator.

I have to say, these are AMAZINGLY YUMMY!!! There’s just something about peanut butter and chocolate!! It’s like the whole Reese’s Cup “You got your chocolate in my peanut butter… you got your peanut butter in my chocolate” thing!! DELISH!!!

