So…I just joined a Facebook Cooking Group with a twist! They have a computer randomly choose an ingredient and all the recipes for that month must include that ingredient!! Sounds like fun, huh? Well, I decided to include my recipes here as well… you know two birds/blogs and one stone/recipe!

Now, October is almost over, but I still have today to make something using… are you ready to hear the ingredient of this past month? Drum roll please…. A-P-P-L-E-S!!! YAY!!!

Yummy, yummy apples!

Whether sweet or sour, red, yellow, or green…

Apples, apples, apples,

They keep you healthy and lean!!!

Yes, I even wrote a poem about apples!!! I know it’s a very corny poem, but don’t be hatin’!

I didn’t have a lot of free time this weekend, so I decided to try a crock pot recipe. And…as confessed in my previous Betty Crocker Challenge post, I LOVE APPLE CRISP!! I may actually be addicted!! This addiction, and my lack of time, drove me to find a slow-cooking crisp. One Google search later and I came up with this one…

Ingredients:

  • 6 medium cooking apples, peeled, cored, sliced I used 3 Granny Smiths and 3 Honey Crisp, but could easily have used 10-12
  • 1 1/2 cups flour I thought I’d be healthy and use whole wheat…eeeh next time I’d go with white or a mix
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon ginger
  • 3/4 cup butter or margarine, softened

Topping Suggestions:

  • Vanilla ice cream
  • Maraschino cherries
  • Whipped cream or whipped topping

Preparation:

Grease crock pot, arrange slices in bottom. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, sugar, spices and butter. Cover the apples with this mixture. Tamp down lightly. Cook on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours, until apples are tender. Serve in dessert dishes with any or all of the suggested toppings.
Enjoy…good on a cool, crisp Fall day!

I put all the ingredients in the crock pot and left for a day of shopping. Which would probably have been fine had I set the temperature on low. But I set it on high and by the time I got home, the apples pulled a Houdini style magic trick and disappeared, leaving the heavy, rather over cooked (code for burnt) topping. I did a little apple crisp surgery,  removing almost all of the topping and salvaged a few apple pieces for the picture. It tasted good, but the recipe needs a little (major) tweaking! I’d add oats to the topping next time to add a little texture.

Your turn…Give it a try and let me know what you think or what you come up with!

