So, this is the other recipe I made for my son’s Chemistry class faux pas. Oatmeal cookies are my all time fave!!! I love them with raisins (gold or brown)… Craisins®... and even just plain ole oatmeal!! There’s just something about that chewy-crunchiness combined with the healthy-badness that makes them the resistably-irresistable!!! And the way they melt in your mouth… forget-a-bout-it!!

So, I decided to make them without any extras… no raisins or Craisins® or chocolate chips. Why? I didn’t want to mess with the textural symmetry of the crunchy-chewiness.  LOLOLOLOLOL… kidding!!! No it’s because I didn’t have any of the above!!! And,  as you may have read… I’m on a new coupon kick, which means… if there isn’t a coupon for it, I don’t buy it! And there were no coupons for craisins, raisins or chocolate chips so we are making plain ole oatmeal cookies! Sometimes less is more!!

Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies By: Betty Crocker

2/3 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 cup shortening – Do I need both butter and shortening? Sounds like a lot of fat!!! You can substitute unsweetened applesauce for the shortening, for a lower fat version. Since this batch was for the Chemistry class I used shortening.
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs – I used large… but you could choose to use egg substitute for lower-fat or lower-cholesterol cookies
3 cups quick-cooking or old-fashioned oats
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup raisins, chopped nuts or semisweet chocolate chips, if desired – Yeah, I didn’t add any of this at all!

  1. Heat oven to 375°F. In large bowl, beat all ingredients except oats, flour and raisins with electric mixer on medium speed, or mix with spoon. Stir in oats, flour and raisins.
  2. On ungreased cookie sheet, drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls about 2 inches apart.
  3. Bake 9 to 11 minutes or until light brown. Immediately remove from cookie sheet to cooling rack.

1 Cookie:
Calories – 120 (55 from fat)
Fat 6g (Sat. Fat 2g)
Cholesterol 20mg
Sodium 95mg
Carbohydrates 15g (Fiber 1g)
Protein 2g

