So as you know, my son is in high school and, like many other teenagers, he’s a little… hmmm…what’s the word I’m looking for… scattered… jumbled… chaotic. You get the picture…he’s a MESS! Well, he was in Chemistry last week doing a lab and he “accidentally” broke a glass stir stick. First of all, I can’t believe they let teenagers play with chemicals, and secondly…glass stir sticks? REALLY?! Anyway…unbeknownst to me, the “punishment” for breaking something in this class is not paying for what you broke… no, no that would be too easy… it’s bringing in homemade cookies. WHAT?! How is this a punishment for him? It seems it’s more of a punishment for me!!!! Why am I, the Mom, being punished for my “chaotic” son’s mistake? Yes, I birthed him, but does that make me responsible for everything he does for the rest of his life??? Someone should have told me about that before I agreed to this motherhood thing!!!! Luckily, I like to bake and I needed to renew my commitment to the Betty Crocker Challenge, so I guess it’s a win, win, win!

I was asked to make chocolate chip cookies, but I didn’t have chocolate chips, or the energy to break apart my chocolate bars, so I pretended like I heard peanut butter cookies instead! They sound similar don’t they? Hmmm maybe not…. but hey, Mom’s not a spring chicken anymore and neither is her hearing! Or at least that’s what the kids think! SHHHH… I actually hear EVERYTHING!!! MMWAAHHHH!!! OK, I admit it…. I’d already done the Betty Crocker Chocolate Chip Cookie Challenge, so I manipulated the situation a tad!! But you will all be glad I did, because these cookies ROCK!!!! OMG… they are delish!!! Luckily, I sent them all in to school, or I’d be crumbing up my keyboard and my coffee as we speak!!!

Peanut Butter Cookies

By: Betty Crocker

1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup shortening
1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened I softened mine in the microwave
1 egg
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

  1. Heat oven to 375ºF.
  2. Mix sugars, peanut butter, shortening, butter and egg in large bowl. Stir in remaining ingredients.
  3. Shape dough into 1 1/4-inch balls. Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet. Flatten in crisscross pattern with fork dipped into sugar.
  4. Bake 9 to 10 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 5 minutes; remove from cookie sheet. Cool on wire rack.

So,  my children scarfed down so many of these cookies that I had to make another batch for the Chemistry teacher! But once again…. instead of duplicating a recipe, I made Betty Crocker’s Oatmeal-Raisin! Darn, I guess I heard him wrong AGAIN!!! Stay tuned for the post!!

