Apfelkuchen-Super Fast and Super Yummy!!!

My son is taking German and his class was having a food day, where everyone brings in an authentic German dish. So guess what he volunteered to bring? Go ahead…take a wild guess what he thought his loving mother, the vegetarian would like to make and bring in for the class to enjoy? BRATWURST!!! Are you kidding me??? Have I mentioned that I’m a veggie? And even if I wasn’t a veggie, I wouldn’t touch a bratwurst!!! EEEWWWW!!!! Do you know what’s in a brat? Again…EEEEWWWWW!!!! Needless to say, I asked him to reconsider and beg his teacher to let him change to something a little more vegetarian friendly! I was thinking Käse Spätzle, but he did one better…Apfelkuchen!!! PERFECT!!! Or… it would have been if he had given me… I don’t know… a 12-hour notice. No… I heard about it at 11:00PM and he needed it by 6:30AM!!! REALLY!!!!???? Yes… REALLY!!!! Luckily, I had 6 Granny Smiths and just enough flour to pull this together and deliver it right on time! WHEEEWWWW!!!

German Apple Cake (Versunkener Apfelkuchen)

Epicurious  | October 2000

by Gil Marks, The World of Jewish Desserts

According to my son, this was the BEST CAKE HE HAS EVER HAD!!!!! Congrats Gil Marks, you’ve passed the CJBrooks cake test!! Unfortunately there wasn’t even a morsel left over, so I didn’t get to taste it! Guess I’ll have to make another!!!


Now, do me a favor… vote for my blog by clicking the banner below… yep that one right down there… it’s easy and painless… and I will be forever grateful!!

