Tuna Salad Sandwich

I’ve been nursing my daughter back to health from a nasty virus and just haven’t had much time to actually cook or blog. Feeling guilty about abandoning all of you readers? Yeah, maybe!  But what can a mother do? Well, I went searching for a quick and easy recipe that I could make in 5 minutes and eat with one hand! Sounds impossible right? Well… I found a can of tuna in the “aaaaaggghhhhh” pantry, and Betty had a recipe that I hadn’t tried yet, so here goes…

Tuna Salad Sandwiches By Betty Crocker

2 cans (6 oz each) tuna in water I only had one 3 oz can, so I adjusted the recipe a tinge
1 medium stalk celery I like celery so I added most of the stalk anyway
1 small onion I didn’t have a regular onion, so I used a green onion
½ cup mayonnaise or salad dressing My skinny recipe is 1 tablespoon of light mayo and 1 tablespoon of mustard
1 teaspoon lemon juice I didn’t measure this, I just cut a quarter of a lemon
¼ teaspoon salt dash
¼ teaspoon pepper dash
8 slices bread 1 slice… yep just one, but it was large

1. Drain the tuna in a strainer in the sink. Chop the celery to measure 1/2 cup. Peel and chop the onion to measure 1/4 cup.
2. In a medium bowl, mix the tuna, celery, onion, mayonnaise, lemon juice, salt and pepper.
3. Spread tuna mixture on 4 bread slices. Top with remaining bread slices.

In addition to the above ingredients, I decided to add oregano, cause I’m addicted! I cut the bread on the diagonal and added some fresh spinach leaves. Spooned half of the tuna mixture on top of the spinach, and added three slices of creamy Havarti cheese. Served it with grape tomatoes and baby carrots for a healthy, nutritious meal… and YES I ate it with one hand!!! I am so talented!

Now, do me a favor… vote for my blog by clicking the banner below… yep that one right down there… it’s easy and painless… and I will be forever grateful!!

