I was going through my pantry…cue the dramatic…dum, dum, duuuuuuuummmmm… and I happened upon a couple boxes of lemon pudding that were quickly approaching their “Best If Used By” date. And since I’m into the green/recycling/ no waste thing…I went looking for a recipe using lemon pudding. Of course, I went to Betty first, but didn’t find anything that sounded good to me. I was in a cookie kind of mood, you know those lemony powdered-sugar tea cookies you buy at the grocery? YUMMMY!!! So I was determined to find something in the cookie family. I received an email telling me about Bing and how awesome it is. Tech Crunch wrote an article highlighting this new feature where you could actually type in the ingredient and Bing will give you recipes that use that ingredient…HOW COOL!!! So I tried it! I typed in Lemon Instant Pudding Mix and sure enough it gave me a choice of links, one of which said Recipes for Lemon Instant Pudding Mix….complete with little thumbnail pics. So I clicked and I got this and chose the Epicurious recipe. So here goes…

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup buttermilk baking mix  I doubled the recipe since I had 2 boxes of expiring pudding mix…so 2 cups here
  • 1 3.4-ounce package instant lemon pudding 2 packages
  • 1 large egg, beaten to blend 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup vegetable oil ½ cup…seemed like a lot so I went somewhere around ¹⁄3 cup
  • Sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease 2 large cookie sheets. Mix first 4 ingredients in large bowl until dough forms. Roll dough into 1-inch balls. Place balls 2 inches apart on prepared cookie sheets. I left mine round and baked them without putting the sugar on top…I wish I could give you a reason, but basically it’s because I didn’t read the directions…ooops! Dip flat-bottom glass into sugar. Press glass onto dough ball and flatten into 1/4-inch-thick cookie. Repeat with remaining cookies. Bake until just golden brown on edges, about 10 minutes. Transfer to racks and cool completely. (Can be prepared 3 days ahead. Store cookies in airtight container.) When I took them out of the oven I let them cool in the pan for a few minutes and then dipped them upside-down in a bowl of sugar. Worked just as well…I think!

These were absolutely WONDERFUL!!! Exactly what I wanted! They were sweet but not too sweet, lemony but not too lemony! They were, in the words of Goldilocks…”Just Right”

These were a hit in the family too! Well, not everyone tried them, but 3 of us did and we all liked them! So it’s a Family Rating: 3 out of 3 Forks


Now, do me a favor… vote for my blog by clicking the banner below… yep that one right down there… it’s easy and painless… and I will be forever grateful!!

