Pad Thai With Scallops

I LOVE LOVE Thai food, but no one in my family likes it… or, rather, has ever tried it. So… I thought I’d secretly make it for dinner and just see how they’d react. I know…I’m pure EVIL… aren’t I? Now, you have to know that I told them it was just noodles with sauce and scallops, instead of throwing that “super exotic name that ends in a vowel” at them. Hilarious, but true…if it sounds exotic, they won’t eat it! So I made it ordinary and they didn’t protest when I told them what was for dinner! Hee hee…

Pad Thai with Shrimp…or Scallops By Betty Crocker

Preparation Time: 35 minutes Cook Time: 5 minutes

  • 4 cups water
  • 1 package (6 to 8 oz) linguine-style stir-fry rice noodles (rice stick noodles)*
  • 1/3 cup fresh lime juice
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons packed brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons fish sauce or soy sauce I had to ask someone, but Target had Fish Sauce…YAY!!!
  • 3 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar or white vinegar
  • 3/4 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne) OK CAUTION!!! This is a lot of red pepper! I used it all and my mouth and lips were on FIRE!!! If you like it hot go for it…if not use a little less!
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 medium shallot, finely chopped, or 1/4 cup finely chopped onion I didn’t have shallots and I couldn’t find them at the store, so I used green onions, but then I realized that it called for green onions too…oh well! Improvise!!!
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 12 oz frozen cooked peeled deveined medium shrimp, thawed I used scallops, because, my kids normally don’t eat seafood, but while at Publix the other day they tasted a scallop dish and they REALLY liked the scallops…so I bought some then and there! I love Publix!!!
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped dry-roasted peanuts
  • 3 cups fresh bean sprouts skipped
  • 4 medium green onions, thinly sliced (1/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup firmly packed cilantro leaves

    Now that's a lot of noodles!!!
  1. In 3-quart saucepan, heat 4 cups water to boiling. Remove from heat; add noodles (push noodles into water with back of spoon to cover completely with water if necessary). Soak noodles 3 to 5 minutes or until noodles are soft but firm. Drain noodles; rinse with cold water. OK so I didn’t realize until after I added the noodles, that my package was 16 oz…ooopppssss!!! So I had a TON of noodles!!! I was going to double the recipe, but decided not to, and it really came out fine!!!!
  2. Meanwhile, in small bowl, stir lime juice, 1/3 cup water, the brown sugar, fish sauce, soy sauce, vinegar, red pepper and 1 tablespoon of the oil until well mixed; set aside.
  3. In nonstick wok or 12-inch nonstick skillet, heat remaining 2 tablespoons vegetable oil over medium heat. Cook garlic and shallot in oil about 30 seconds, stirring constantly, until starting to brown. Add eggs. Cook about 2 minutes, stirring gently and constantly, until scrambled but still moist.
  4. Stir in noodles and lime juice mixture. Increase heat to high. Cook about 1 minute, tossing constantly with 2 wooden spoons, until sauce begins to thicken. Add remaining ingredients except cilantro. Cook 2 to 3 minutes, tossing with 2 wooden spoons, until noodles are tender. Place on serving platter. Sprinkle with cilantro. Garnish with additional chopped dry-roasted peanuts and green onions if desired.

THEY LOVED IT!!! Well my husband and son LOVED IT and my daughter said it was good but too spicy for her liking…and she didn’t eat much of it! So I guess it’s a 3 out of 4 or maybe a 3½ out of 4 forks…I would highly recommend trying it!!

Nutrition Information:

1 Serving: Calories 560 (Calories from Fat 210); Total Fat 23g (Saturated Fat 4g, Trans Fat 0g); Cholesterol 240mg; Sodium 1310mg; Total Carbohydrate 59g (Dietary Fiber 4g, Sugars 15g); Protein 29g Percent Daily Value*: Vitamin A 10%; Vitamin C 15%; Calcium 10%; Iron 25% Exchanges: 3 Starch; 1/2 Other Carbohydrate; 1 Vegetable; 2 1/2 Lean Meat; 2 1/2 Fat Carbohydrate Choices: 4
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

Now, do me a favor… vote for my blog by clicking the banner below… yep that one right down there… it’s easy and painless… and I will be forever grateful!!

