Unroasted Rosemary-No Onion Potatoes

Conner was making Oven-Fried Chicken for dinner and we needed something to go with it…or for those of us that don’t eat chicken… just something/anything to eat. So I went to the pantry…dum, dum, dummmmmm, and found some red potatoes hiding back in the corner. Fortunately, they hadn’t sprouted those ugly white root thingies yet, so I decided to find a recipe to use them up! And of course, Betty had a recipe…surprise, surprise!!! So Roasted Rosemary-Onion Potatoes would be the recipe of choice, even though it didn’t specify red potatoes! I’m such a dare-devil in the kitchen!!!

Roasted Rosemary-Onion Potatoes By Betty Crocker

Prep Time: 15 min
Total Time: 40 min
Makes: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium potatoes (1 1/3 pounds) I used the red potatoes
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped (1/4 cup) Skipped the onion cause my daughter was watching me…I will sometimes sneak them in!
  • 2 tablespoons olive or vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary leaves or 2 teaspoons dried rosemary leaves Fresh from my “determined” rosemary bush
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme leaves or 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme leaves dried
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 450ºF. Grease jelly roll pan, 15 1/2×10 1/2×1 inch. Cut potatoes into 1-inch chunks. Yeah, I actually cooked these in a large skillet on the stove. I don’t know why, I just felt like it…maybe cause the chicken was in the oven and I didn’t want chicken juice on my potatoes.
  2. I actually pre-cooked the potatoes in the microwave for 5 minutes. Then I cut them into cubes.
  3. Mix remaining ingredients in large bowl. Add potatoes; toss to coat. Spread potatoes in single layer in pan. Or skillet
  4. Bake uncovered 20 to 25 minutes, turning occasionally, until potatoes are light brown and tender when pierced with fork.

These were also a HUGE hit!!! I know we had a BANNER dinner!!! Success all around!!! Doesn’t happen very often! I only wish my husband could have witnessed it! Maybe we’ll make it again…who am I kidding…we’re trying to get through this cookbook…repeats are NOT ALLOWED!!!! Sorry babe!

Now, do me a favor… vote for my blog by clicking the banner below… yep that one right down there… it’s easy and painless… and I will be forever grateful!!

