Vegetable Broth

I needed a vegetable broth for the Quick Jambalaya that I made for Fat Tuesday dinner. I didn’t have any canned and I didn’t want to run out and get some, (cause I was sittin’ on the couch eatin’ bonbons) so I thought I would just use the veggies I have and follow Betty’s recipe to make my own.

Vegetable Broth By Betty Crocker

Ingredients

  • 6 cups coarsely chopped vegetables (such as bell peppers, carrots, celery, leeks, mushroom stems, potatoes, spinach or zucchini) get creative! I threw in broccoli and cauliflower, red potatoes, carrots, spinach, celery, and anything else that looked like it would taste good!
  • 1 medium onion, coarsely chopped (½ cup)
  • ½ cup parsley sprigs
  • 8 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh or 2 teaspoons dried thyme leaves
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon cracked black pepper
  • 4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 dried bay leaves

Directions

  1. In 4-quart Dutch oven or stockpot, heat all ingredients to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer 1 hour, stirring occasionally.
  2. Cool about 10 minutes. Strain broth through a cheesecloth-lined sieve; discard vegetables and seasonings. Use broth immediately, or cover and refrigerate up to 24 hours or freeze up to 6 months. Stir before measuring.

I did not discard the vegetables…I hate to waste good veggies…I just took out the bay leaves and used the rest in my Quick Jambalaya recipe.Darn tasty…and really easy!

