Jambalaya...My Way!

In honor of Mardi Gras, I went searching for a recipe for jambalaya. No problem, right? Surely, there are plenty of recipes for jambalaya… but… not a jambalaya for my family. No meat…no tomatoes…really hard to find one like that! So, I was going to have to tweak one to fit our needs. Luckily, Betty has a recipe for Quick Jambalaya, which is exactly what I need…Q-U-I-C-K…everyone’s hungry and if I don’t act fast, they’ll pressure me into…dum, dum, dumm…going out for dinner…gasp! So here goes…

Quick Jambalaya By Betty Crocker

Ingredients

  • 1 package (7 to 8 oz) frozen brown-and-serve sausage links SKIPPED this step for the veggies in the house. Yes I could have added vegetarian sausage, but I didn’t have any and didn’t want to go get some.
  • 1 ½ cups uncooked instant rice
  • 1 ½ cups chicken broth Vegetable Broth…homemade from Betty, too!
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh or ¼ teaspoon dried thyme leaves Dried for me
  • ¼ teaspoon chili powder
  • ¹⁄8 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne)
  • 1 small green bell pepper, chopped (1/2 cup) Didn’t have a green one, but I had yellow, red and orange mini peppers, so I subbed
  • 1 small onion, chopped (1/4 cup) OK, so my daughter was watching me make this and she doesn’t like the texture of onions. So she asked if we could liquefy them in the Magic Bullet. And of course I said OK…I mean at least she agreed to let me put them in
  • 1 can (14.5 oz) stewed tomatoes, undrained Ok, this is a little tricky…my boys don’t like tomatoes, so I bought the crushed organic tomatoes and then crushed even more. So they thought it was just tomoato sauce…mwahhhh
  • 1 package (10 oz) frozen quick-cooking cleaned shrimp I love shrimp, but I didn’t have any and I wasn’t feeling like going to get some, so I subbed some kidney beans in instead. I had to get some protein in there!

Directions

  1. Cut sausages diagonally into 1-inch slices. In deep 10-inch skillet, cook as directed on package; drain.
  2. Stir in remaining ingredients. Heat to boiling, stirring occasionally; reduce heat. Simmer uncovered 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  1. First, I added a little olive oil in a deep skillet and heated the onions, well the onion liquid.
  2. Once it was heated I added the rest of the ingredients. A little side note***when I made the vegetable broth, I kept the veggies instead of discarding them and added them in as well!

It was so yummy! I haven’t ever had jambalaya before, but man I will definitely make it again…for me. The kids said it was good, but it was too spicy for my daughter and my son doesn’t like casserole-type food…WHAT?? Since when?  But, they ate it and didn’t complain or resort to the old stand-by…peanut-butter and jelly.

