We're makin' waffles!!

HAPPY VALENTINES’ DAY

So, I asked my hubs what he wanted for his Valentines’ Day breakfast an d he chose waffles! Great! With my waffle iron they’re quick and easy and relatively painless. (I’m getting off easy this year!!!! SHHSSHH) Usually I’ll use various waffle recipes I find on the interwebs, but since starting the Betty Challenge, I’ve been trying to go to my Betty Crocker Cookbook first, and then tweak if need be. If I don’t, I won’t ever get done with this challenge! (There are a LOAD of recipes in there!!!!) Betty’s recipe is similar to many others I’ve used, so I didn’t have to tweak much. But…I had leftover mascarpone cheese from the tiramisu the other night and, as you know if you read this blog regularly, I can’t bear to waste…especially expensive cheese. So…I decided to add a little Italian kick to my waffles! YUMMY!!!

Waffles

  • 2 large eggs Organic
  • 2 cups all-purpose or whole wheat flour I couldn’t decide, so I did 1 cup of each!
  • 1 ¾ cups milk Organic
  • ½ cup vegetable oil, melted butter or margarine Organic butter, melted in the micro
  • 1 tablespoon sugar contemplated sub’ing honey, but in the end went with sugar. Maybe next time!
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • Fresh berries, if desired
  • Leftover Mascarpone Cheese and Powdered Sugar
  • 1-2 teaspoons milk
  1. Heat waffle iron.
  2. In large bowl, beat eggs with wire whisk or hand beater until fluffy. Beat in remaining ingredients except berries just until smooth.
  3. Pour slightly less than 3/4 cup batter onto center of hot waffle iron. Close lid of waffle iron.
  4. Bake about 5 minutes or until steaming stops. Carefully remove waffle. Serve immediately. Top with fresh berries. Repeat with remaining batter.
  5. I put the mascarpone cheese mixture in a mixing bowl and added a teaspoon of milk to make a little more creamy.
  6. Using a cookie scoop I topped each waffle with a mound of mascarpone cream and arranged strawberries and blueberries around. Finish it off with a little powdered sugar and a drizzle of honey or syrup and VOILA!!!! Pure awesomeness!!!



