Cookies & Milk

I’ve made millions of cookies… ok, well maybe thousands … over the last 40+ years. Some were great and some … ummm… not so much! But, mine, even the great ones, never compare to my mother’s famous chocolate chip & walnut cookies. Judy’s Cookies are known nationwide, well, at least throughout Ohio, North Carolina and Florida. They’re perfectly puffy with an ideal mix of chocolate, nuts and cookie. Jude can really make a cookie! Mine, however, come out flat with chips in some and none in others. I always chalked it up to hers are baked with love and mine are baked with obligation! Until… I saw the Betty Crocker cookie baking pages.

Now, I’ve read my share of baking information, but I could not figure out why my cookies come out flat while my Mom’s, using the same recipe, come out awesomely fluffy. Turns out, it has everything to do with the state of the butter and the method of measure, and nothing to do with love and obligation.

Part 1: Butter/Crisco

You see, I live in Florida, where it’s humid and butter/Crisco tends to melt, when left at room temperature. Betty says that the softened butter should not be liquid, but rather just soft enough to press a finger into. OK, this may take a little more attentiveness on my part, but I can stop eating my bonbons long enough to watch the butter not melt.

Part 2: Flour

Usually when I measure out my flour, I just stick my 1-cup measuring cup into the bag and fill it. Well, Betty says to take a spoon or scoop and scoop the flour into the measuring cup so as not to pack it down, thus using too much. BRILLIANT!!!

These two alterations were my cookie baking “AH HA moment”. Check out that picture…I mean pure cookie-perfection right there!!! And oh boy, if you could only taste them!!! YUMMY!!! Those get the “5 CHIP” award in my book!!

Chocolate Chip Cookies By: Betty Crocker

  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter or margarine, softened I used organic butter, unsalted and perfectly softened…Thanks Betty!
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour carefully scooped not packed
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped nuts my fam prefers no nuts…I guess they are nuts enough!
  • 1 bag (12 oz) semi-sweet chocolate chips (2 cups)
  1. Heat oven to 375°F.
  2. In large bowl, beat sugars, butter, vanilla and egg with electric mixer on medium speed, or mix with spoon.
  3. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt (dough will be stiff).
  4. Stir in nuts and chocolate chips.
  5. On ungreased cookie sheet, drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls about 2 inches apart.
  6. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until light brown (centers will be soft). Cool 1 to 2 minutes; remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.
Perfection!!

Bookmark and Share

