Strawberry-Banana (Carrot-shhhh) Smoothie

My son came home from school the other day starving and said… say it with me now…”Mom, there’s nothing to eat.” He must have missed the apples in the bowl on the counter…or the pantry and refrigerator brimming with food. But I, being the good stay-at-home-mom that I am, offered to make him a snack. I could cut one of those invisible apples into wedges, arrange them in a circle on a small plate and dollop some peanut butter in the center …or… I could open a bag of Doritos from said pantry, and throw them at him. He’d probably prefer the latter, except for the fact that he’d just been to the orthodontist and his teeth were killing him. So, he decided a smoothie would be better. Now, I love making smoothies for my family, because I can add anything and they’ll never know!!! Mwahhhhh!!!  But seriously, if I can cram 3-4 servings of fruits and sometimes (shhhh) veggies into a milkshake-like product… I’m going to do it!!! And try to keep a straight face as they gulp it down!

Strawberry Banana Smoothie

  • 6-oz container yogurt, any flavor organic vanilla is what we used
  • 3-4 strawberries, cleaned and hulled
  • 1 banana
  • 1-2 baby carrots, steamed and pureed
  • 2-3 tablespoons milk I used organic, cuz that’s how I roll
  • ice cubes
  • 1 scoop Protein Powder (optional)

In a blender or Magic Bullet, add all ingredients and blend until smooth and creamy!

So I just realized that Betty had recipe for a Strawberry Smoothie, thus I could check another recipe off my list…so I’m going to add Betty’s Recipe in here and kill two birds with one smoothie!

Strawberry Smoothie By Betty Crocker

  • Prep Time: 5 minutes
  • Servings: 4
  • 1 pint strawberries (2 cups)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 containers (6 oz each) strawberry yogurt (1 ¹⁄3 cups)
  1. Reserve 4 strawberries for garnish. Cut out the hull, or “cap,” from remaining strawberries
  2. In blender, place strawberries, milk, and yogurt. Cover and blend on high speed about 30 seconds or until smooth.
  3. Pour mixture into 4 glasses. Garnish each with reserved strawberry.

