Bread is a bakin'!

This was an accident. Really!!!! I didn’t mean to make a loaf of Italian bread. I forgot to buy a loaf at the store…and since I had everything I needed…I just did it! It’s kind of empowering, actually! I went looking for a recipe and came across a couple, but they were calling for all these extra steps, like spraying the loaves every 3 minutes with a spray bottle…ummm…not going to happen…I’m trying to make an entire meal here and I don’t have a sous chef!!! So I took my little bit of knowledge about yeast and made my own recipe! I KNOW…REALLY IMPRESSIVE…RIGHT? OK, I actually made this recipe twice just to make sure it wasn’t a fluke or beginner’s luck the first time.  And to my surprise, it came out even better the second time!

OK, now I have to have a little warning here…

*****WARNING*****

Make sure you use RapidRise™ Yeast with this recipe…There is a difference between regular Active Yeast and RapidRise™. First, is the temperature of the liquid…RapidRise™ needs hotter liquids (120º-130ºF). And the RapidRise™ doesn’t take as long since it doesn’t require the double rise. Sounds confusing, huh? Well, just make sure you buy the RapidRise™ or this recipe won’t work!

Now you’ve been warned…let’s get baking some bread!


Kneading the dough...the easy way!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup warm water, 120º-130ºF
  • 1/2 cup warm skim milk, 120º-130ºF
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 1 packet RapidRise™ Yeast
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1 cup semolina flour
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • coarse cornmeal
  • Olive oil flavored nonstick cooking spray

Fresh and hot...can't you just smell it?

Directions

  1. Mix RapidRise ™ yeast with flours and salt in mixing bowl.
  2. Heat water and milk to 120º-130ºF and honey and oil and mix until blended.
  3. Add liquid to dry ingredients and with flat paddle mix just until blended.
  4. Switch to the dough attachment and knead on medium for about 6-8 minutes.
  5. Cover with a clean towel and let rest for about 10 minutes.
  6. Shaped dough into 2 loaves. Cover and let rise in warm place until doubled in size. I heat my oven slightly and then turn it off and put the loaves in the oven to rise.
  7. With serrated knife cut three angled slits in the top of the loaf. I brushed mine with a little melted butter and sprinkled a little garlic powder on top.
  8. Bake at 400ºF for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

That’s it! Not as hard as you thought huh? Delish!

