BBQ Chicken Flatbread
Veggie Flatbread

For dinner tonight, we’re doing homemade, made-to-order, flatbread pizzas! Now, I know I’m going to get some grief about this, as it’s Monday…Moe’s Monday. If you don’t know Moe’s, “Welcome to Moe’s”, it’s a Mexican restaurant that serves made-to-order Mexican food. On Monday’s they have a deal on burritos…It’s kind of a family tradition! But we’ve had A LOT of Mexican food lately and I feel like a little Italian! So if I make it…they must eat it! At least that’s how it is in the kitchen in my head!

So I love flatbread pizzas and have always wanted to learn how to make them, but have never had time. Well, this blog is giving me that opportunity! So I went searching the inter-webs for a recipe. Ummm, there are tons…how to choose? Well, pick one that you have the ingredients for, thus avoiding a trip to the store! So, I found the one below at Grouprecipes.com. I LOVE rosemary, and since I have a rosemary plant going crazy in my backyard, I thought I would try it! So here goes…

Rosemary Flatbread Pizza from Choclytcandy at Grouprecipes.com

Ingredients

  • 4 cups flour I used 2 cups of organic flour and 2 cups of whole wheat flour.
  • 2 tsp baking powder I would probably try yeast in the next batch.
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tbs finely chopped fresh rosemary
  • 2 cups plain yogurt REALLY? Unexpected…but OK
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 2 tbs roasted garlic, mashed with 2 tbs olive oil I didn’t use this as I baked them in the oven instead of in a pan
  • extra olive oil for spreading
  • kosher salt


Directions

  1. Mix dry ingredients, including rosemary, in a large bowl. Stir in yogurt and 1 tbs olive oil. Kneed until dough is smooth. I used my KitchenAid mixer…so much easier!! Cover dough with a damp cloth and allow to rise for 1 hour (or half hour at altitude over 3500 feet). HHHuHHHH…Mine didn’t rise…at all...nope, flat as a pancake…or as a flatbread…LOL
  2. Cut dough into 12 pieces and roll each piece into a ball. On a lightly floured board, roll each ball into a 6-inch circle. Heat a cast-iron skillet and brush skillet with additional olive oil. I made long narrow flatbreads like at Crispers, so I did 4 larger balls of dough and had enough for a little round one, too. I did brush them with olive oil.
  3. Cooking one flatbread at a time, cook 2 minutes on one side and flip and cook 2 minutes on other side. Bread should puff and have nice browned spots on it. I baked these in the oven for about ten minutes until bubbles appeared and they browned, slightly.
  4. Brush finished bread with roasted garlic and oil, sprinkle lightly with a pinch kosher salt. We topped ours with BBQ sauce, BBQ chicken and mozzarella cheese and a little green onion for the meatatarians… and organic pizza sauce, spinach, feta cheese, yellow peppers, green onion and fresh basil for the vegetarians.

They were DELISH!!! I would definitely make them again with a couple tweaks…ie. yeast instead of baking powder and maybe some garlic powder in the dough for a little added kick!

