Curried Cheese Spread

Curry?  Yeah, I’m not really sure if I like curry…and since I’m the most adventurous eater in this family, I don’t know if this recipe is going to fly. But this is an experiment…so, we’ll try it…like it or not…and then make our judgment! Maybe if I don’t tell them that there’s curry in it, they won’t notice…maybe?!

Curried Cheese Spread

  • 1 package (8 oz) cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup shredded Havarti or Monterey Jack cheese I used Havarti…mmmmm…my favorite!!!
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne)
  • 2 tablespoons mango chutney So I bought mango chutney at the store…it’s a sweet, spicy chutney…uh-oh!
  • 1 teaspoon chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon sliced almonds, toasted
  • Assorted crackers or fresh vegetables, if desired
  1. In medium bowl, beat cream cheese, Havarti cheese, curry powder, red pepper and garlic powder with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth and well blended.
  2. Spread cheese mixture in 6 inch circle, about 1/2 inch thick, on 8-inch serving plate. Spread chutney over cheese. Sprinkle with cilantro and almonds.
  3. Serve spread on crackers or vegetables.

Weeellllll….I wasn’t feeling very good, so I skipped taste-testing while making it. And I still wasn’t feeling great at dinner, so I didn’t even get it out of the fridge. I WILL try some…eventually! I’ll update you when I do! Doesn’t it look pretty though?

******UPDATE******

OK I tried it…and…it really wasn’t so bad! In fact…it was really pretty good! You have to like curry (which is growing on me)…and spicy…but with the crackers I made from the left over rosemary flat-bread dough (completely by accident…yeah, I left the round that was left over out of night and VOILA! ) it was really good!

