It’s SUPER BOWL SUNDAY!!!! So, in honor of the New Orleans Saints, my comments will be in Gold today instead of the usual Red! GO SAINTS!!!!

OK, so this is one of my favorite days!!! It’s the one day of the year that I actually WANT to watch commercials. Oh and we eat a bunch of food, too! My specialty for these events is my Fresh Southwest Salsa. This is a recipe I got from a friend years ago and tweaked and sculpted into what it is today! I have to be honest, though…if you like bottled salsa, and you want to continue to like bottled salsa…stay away from MY salsa! You see, I use to love me some Pace Salsa. I’d buy it in the MEGA-SIZE jug and use it on everything from apples to zucchini. But once I started making this salsa…I was ruined…I can’t go back to the bottle! It’s just doesn’t taste as good any more! I dare you…no I double-chip dare you…take my salsa challenge and see for yourself!

Fresh Southwest Salsa

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 Tomatoes, washed and diced
  • 1 15oz can Organic Black Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 15oz can Organic Corn, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup Chopped Fresh Cilantro
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Minced Garlic
  • 2 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1/4 cup Chopped Green Onion
  • 1 Medium Avocado, Chopped
  • 1/4 -1/2 cup Fresh Lime Juice
  • 1 Jalapeno Pepper, diced
In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and mix well. Chill for at least 1 hour. Serve with tortilla chips or use to top your grilled chicken or fish.
OK so here’s a little tip…I use to hand chop all these ingredients…hating every minute of it! I mean, do you know how slippery those pesky tomatoes are when you’re trying to cut them into uniform chunks?  And then there’s that crazy jalapeño that makes my fingers feel like they’re on FIRE. I dreaded making this recipe every time…until… I found the Vidalia Chop Wizard. This single device has saved me countless hours and a lot of pain! Now, I can make salsa in minutes instead of hours. And I don’t have to chase those slippery tomatoes around the kitchen!

