Friday night dinners around our house are usually a grab and go kind-a-thing. But for some reason last night, the whole family decided to help with dinner. So…my son made his go-to dinner of tacos…my daughter made a Mexican layered dip…I made the 5th entry in our Betty Challenge…Layered Mexican Snack Platter…and my hubs…YES my HUBS…actually made Mexican Sweet Corn Bread (like Don Pablos).

I would love to tell you it went smoothly, but…with 4 of us in the kitchen…you can imagine the bedlam that resulted!!! To start…I learned that my glass plates are NOT oven-proof! Ummm…it cracked in half while I was heating up the beans and cheese! Not cool…I had to start all over!!! Then my daughter and I had a “discussion” over the dips, since we were both making them and they were similar, I thought we could just make one and tweak it…but she wanted to do her own! Here’s how that convo went…

Me “FINE!”

Her “FINE”

Me “Whatever”

Her “Huh” as she stormed off to her room!

But in the end, everything was wonderfully delicious! And just so you know…both dips were good…but mine was better! HA!!! It’s my blog and I get the deciding vote!

  • 1 can (16 oz) refried beans I used vegetarian
  • 2 tablespoons salsa, chili sauce or ketchup Salsa was our mix-in of choice
  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream Trying to keep my girlish figure…so I used light sour cream
  • 1 cup Guacamole (page 46) or purchased guacamole so all the guac I had made was gone and I didn’t feel like making more, so I just cut up an avocado
  • 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese (4 oz)
  • 2 medium green onions, chopped (2 tablespoons) I cut mine with kitchen shears
  • Tortilla chips, if desired I found Organic White Tortilla Chips and Organic Blue Corn with Flax Seeds from Archer Farms at Target…Delish
  1. In small bowl, stir refried beans and salsa until well mixed. Spread in thin layer on 12- or 13-inch serving plate or pizza pan. I started with a glass plate and decided to change up the recipe by heating up the refried beans and cheese in the oven for 7 minutes…well… at about 6 minutes I heard a crack and bang in the oven. My plate had cracked right down the center and a chunk broke off. Being the worry wort that I am, and not wanting to feed my family glass laced dip…I trashed it and started again…this time in the microwave!
  2. Spread sour cream over beans, leaving about 1-inch border of beans around edge. Spread guacamole over sour cream, leaving border of sour cream showing. I did the sour cream next followed by the avocado chunks.
  3. Sprinkle cheese over guacamole. Sprinkle onions over cheese. Serve immediately, or cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to serve. Serve with tortilla chips. I then sprinkled the onions and I added chopped tomatoes and then sprinkled a little taco seasoning over the top.
  4. I rimmed the plate with alternating white and blue chips to give a little glam and BAM!

So my daughters dip…in case you wanted to know… was cream cheese spread on a plate then topped with refried bean and shredded cheese…simple and yet very good! Thanks Bai!

My hubs…well…he continues to surprise me even after 19 years of marriage! His sweet cornbread was DELICIOUS!!! He found a pack of Mexican cornbread at the store and saw a recipe that called for a can of cream corn. So he mixed it up and…BAM……look at that face! He is SO PROUD!

