So I bought some beets at the Farmer’s Market on Saturday. Don’t know why…they just looked so pretty…with their bright green leaves with red stems…GORGEOUS!!  But, what do you do with them? I’ve only ever used beets in a can. Isn’t that the way they’re grown? No? Huh!

Actually, while visiting my brother and his family last month, I tried a salad that my sis-n-law, Laura, (Hey, Laura…you made the blog AGAIN!!!! Should I start paying you?) made with fresh beets on top. FABULOUS!!! That planted the beet seed in my head that I, too, could use fresh beets. So I bought them and set them on my counter. They looked really good there, all vibrant and whole-foodish! But, alas I decided that before they started wilting, I should actually do something with them. So… I stuck them in the fridge for a day or two until I could figure out how to prepare them. Then, yesterday while fighting the beets to get to my eggs, I decided that their day had come. I set out to find a recipe, online. But, all I could find online was boiled beets or sugary ones, which I’m sure are tasty, but not what I was looking for! I kind of remembered how Laura prepared them, but to be sure I text-ed her to see how she cooked them. Here’s her text recipe…

“Cut the ends, sprinkle w Olive oil, wrap in foil. Bake at 350ºF for 1 hr, let cool then peel. Be careful…Will stain everything it touches”

I LOVE text recipes! Cut the bull and just send the important stuff! Hey, there could be a future in that…hmmm….I should do that…could make $$…SHSHSHSH….ANYWAY….So here’s what I did…

The finished product...YUMMY!!

  • 3-4 fresh beets
  • Olive Oil
  • Aluminum Foil…oops I didn’t have any…too lazy to run to the store, so I improvised…saucepan with lid (oven safe, I hope).

Wash and dry beets, and cut off the stems and roots. Place in foil and drizzle with olive oil before wrapping. Wrap tightly and place in 350ºF oven for 1 hour. Remove and let cool completely. Peel, being careful not to get it on anything, as it will stain!!! My fingers have returned to their normal color finally!

I can’t believe how easy that was!!! And there is something therapeutic about peeling skin off beets. I LOVE it! Now I have to make that salad! Laura?

Here’s are some fun websites about Beets…check them out!

Vegan Coach

Wikipedia

Mother Nature

Organic Facts

