Conner's Hummus

I like to think I’m an experienced hummus maker, being that I make it for myself usually once a week or so. That’s right…I’m a tahini buying, pita-toasting member of the hummus community…and proud of it!! With this in mind, it would be really easy to just skip this one and move on…but, I want to complete the “Brooks Cook With Betty Challenge”, all 925 recipes (WOW that’s a lot of recipes!) So like it or not…we are making hummus…Betty’s way! But I think I’ll get my son, Conner, to make this one! Every man should know how to make hummus…right? Ha ha…this should be good! Did I mention that he doesn’t eat hummus? No? Well…maybe he’ll start!

Hummus

  • 1 can (15 to 16 oz) garbanzo beans, drained
  • 1/4 cup olive or vegetable oil I would use Tahini here…but not nearly this much…only a tablespoon or so
  • 1 clove garlic, cut in half
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice we used fresh…there is no comparison!
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Chopped fresh parsley We skipped this step…ooopppsss
  • Pita bread wedges, crackers or raw vegetables, if desired
  1. In a blender or food processor (we used the Magic Bullet), place beans, oil, garlic, lemon juice and salt. Cover and blend on high-speed, stopping blender occasionally to scrape sides if necessary, until uniform consistency.
  2. Spoon into serving dish. Garnish with parsley. Serve with pita bread wedges. (Check out my baked pita recipe below)

Cumin-Pepper Hummus

Add 1/4 teaspoon ground cumin with the salt. Omit parsley. Sprinkle with coarsely ground pepper.

Sun-Dried Tomato Hummus

Stir 1/3 cup chopped drained sun-dried tomatoes (packed in oil) into blended mixture.

So we followed this recipe exactly…well, except for the parsley…and I have to say it was really good! I didn’t miss the tahini at all! Conner wouldn’t know if it was good or not, because he refused to try it! He really didn’t even want to make it, but Mom made him! Hee hee!

Conner loved this recipe!!! Not!!

Baked Pita Triangles

  • 1 package Pita Pockets
  • Oil spray
  • Salt
  • Dried Oregano

With a pizza cutter, cut pitas into 4 triangles and then pull apart to make 8 triangles. Place on a baking sheet and spray with oil spray. Sprinkle with salt and oregano and heat under the broiler approximately 2-4 minutes until just lightly browned and crispy. Turn the triangles over and broil another 2-3 minutes until crispy.


