My daughter, Bailey, found food grade lavender at the farmers’ market and decided she wanted to try to make something with it. Where does she get these ideas…HAHAHA!!! Luckily she received a book called “1001 cupcakes, cookies & other tempting treats” from her Aunt Laura, which happened to have a cookie recipe that called for lavender. Now, I love me some lavender…scent…I wasn’t so sure about eating it, though. I kind of thought it might taste like eating my Aunt Bonnie’s perfume. Surprisingly, though, I liked it! It’s amazing with a cup of hot tea! I urge you to try it! If nothing else you’ll feel really zen for a minute!

Lavender Cookies

1 cup butter, softened

1 cup superfine sugar She used regular sugar…gasp!!

1 large egg, lightly beaten I don’t think she beat the egg lightly…or at all

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 tablespoon dried lavender, chopped She used the Magic Bullet and whirled it into a fine powder

  1. Preheat oven to 375ºF/190ºC. Line 2-3 large baking sheets with parchment paper*. Place butter and sugar in a bowl and beat together until light and fluffy, then beat in egg. Sift together the flour and baking powder into the mixture**, add the lavender, and stir well.
  2. Place tablespoons of the mixture on the baking sheets, spaced well apart. Bake in the preheated oven for 15 minutes***, or until golden brown. Let cool on the baking sheet for 5-10 minutes, then transfer the cookies to wire racks to cool completely.

*She did line the pans with parchment…which made it so easy to remove them from the pan. I haven’t made cookies with parchment, but after seeing how easy it was, I may start now!

**I know she didn’t sift the flour and baking powder, but we couldn’t tell the difference in the finished product.

***She made the cookies with our cookie scoop which is smaller than a tablespoon, so she baked for 13 minutes…she’s so smart!!!

We’ve had mixed reviews on these cookies. I LOVE THEM! Cause I’m so ZEN!!! LOL!!! Bailey also liked them…like mother like daughter! My son and husband weren’t so sure about them,  but I think it was more the thought of eating a flower, rather than the actual taste. My niece and her husband tried them and while they didn’t spit them out…they weren’t sold on them, either. But Bailey took them to school and the yearbook staff seemed to like them! Well…if they didn’t like them, they didn’t tell her. So, I would have to say it’s hit or miss with these cookies. I would make them again, for me and my yogi friends, but my husband and son will be getting the good old-fashioned chocolate chip!



