Peanut Butter Marshmallow Fruit Dip

Our first official recipe is a member of the appetizer family. Yay!!! I love me some appetizers! Did you know that there are different types of appetizers? Well, I sort of did, I guess, but I would have gotten it wrong on a test. According to Betty, there are:

  • canapés -a cracker, or piece of bread with a spread on top
  • crudités-raw veggies cut into strips or pieces…in my circle this is called a  veggie platter
  • dips & dunks -like Ranch dressing
  • finger foods-no utensils needed
  • first course-ummm, huh? well think of an Italian dinner where you have a small portion of pasta before the bigger portion of pasta
  • hors d’oeuvres -bite-sized yummies usually eaten with cocktails
  • spreads -thicker than dips used on crackers or bread in canapés…ha, I retained some info!

Who knew?

Our challenge today is Creamy Fruit Dip! Now, I know I’ve had this before, and I think I’ve even made it before. It’s pretty simple, but I can screw anything up, so here goes!

  • 1 package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (7 oz) jar marshmallow creme My husbands fave!! Maybe he’ll even try some fruit!
  • 1 tablespoon milk

In a medium bowl, beat all ingredients with electric mixer on medium speed until smooth and creamy.

Marshmallow Fruit Dip

Variations:

Cinnamon Fruit Dip

Creamy Cinnamon Fruit Dip – Add 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Ginger Fruit Dip

Creamy Gingered Fruit Dip – Add 2 tablespoons finely chopped crystallized ginger

OK…sounds REALLY EASY! Our first step is to figure out our shopping list. Ummmm, yeah…I have a confession…I tend to keep tons of food in the pantry…so much, in fact, that I can’t find anything when I need it! I remember buying marshmallow creme for my husband, but as expected, I can’t find it!!! SO…I decided to clean out my messy pantry, since this recipe is SO EASY and FAST and I’d have extra time. Ha…yeah, well…then I decided that I needed to hit the local Farmers’ Market before it closed… and then it was lunch time, so we went out for lunch and then… we were so close to the mall we had to go! So, I had no time to clean out my pantry. Maybe tomorrow…maybe not!

Anyway…we got home around 7:00PM and decided to make the recipe as our appetizer for a very late dinner. I mixed up the original ingredients and divided them into 4 bowls. One, I left plain and garnished with a chocolate drizzled marshmallow. To another, I added a dash of cinnamon and topped it with a piece of a cinnamon stick. The third bowl was ginger, and I just happened to have purchased a ginger root at the Farmers’ Market, so I grated a little bit and topped it with a sliver of ginger. I had one bowl left and I decided that I would add a little peanut butter, since my hubs fave snack is saltines with Fluff and PB. So I added a little organic peanut butter and topped it with a peanut. I placed them out on the island with graham crackers, strawberries, blackberries, and bananas. I called the family to taste test…they were thrilled to be force fed…until they tasted it! They loved it! I made them try each one and then they voted on their fave…drum roll please….and the winner is…PEANUT BUTTER!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you….do I know my family or what?!

Give it a try and add your own special ingredient and let me know what you come up with! I love new creations!

